Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Zumo & Google Earth
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Zumo & Google Earth

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ollie_GBR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 26, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Zumo & Google Earth Reply with quote

I understand you can upload your track log to Google Earth on the Zumo, can someone please explain how?

Cheers
Ollie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ollie_GBR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 26, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, some easy searching found this;

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=50693&highlight=zumo+google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome

If you have Mapsource, the newer versions have a menu option: View -- View in Google Earth which imports waypoints and tracks straight into Google Earth.

Can't work out how to make it fly though? Any pointers?
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 12, 2003
Posts: 94
Location: Lancashire, England, Great Britain

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! after opening in Google Earth, look at the left hand side of the screen for 'Temporary Places', expand this until you find an icon with 'three connected spheres', select this and click the 'play' icon below.
_________________
Aprilia Tuono, Zumo 550
Ipaq 2210/Fortuna/TomTom Nav6
& Road Angel 7000 + Memory Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried this but any route I import it just joins the waypoints with straight lines is there anyway to make it recalculate the route?? or do I just need to recreate the route and let it do it that way.
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desd wrote:
Tried this but any route I import it just joins the waypoints with straight lines is there anyway to make it recalculate the route?? or do I just need to recreate the route and let it do it that way.


The waypoints you see are the turn points. In between them you follow the flow of the road. Google Earth will just show these as straight lines between each turn...

I can't really think of any way around this - you could add a load of extra waypoints along the route. Tracklogs display OK because there are loads of points in them...
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realise this I just hoped there was an option like with Mapsource to recalculate route
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpkin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Herefordshire

PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what version of Mapsource you're using but with mine it follows the route faithfully.

I'm using Mapsource 6.13.4 and Google Earth 4.2.0205
_________________
Chas
Garmin i3, Quest & StreetPilot 2720 with GTM10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using mapsource 6.11.5 as that's what came with my Zumo.
I have the same version of Google earth so I'm not sure what difference the newer version of mapsource does unless it actually tells Google earth what the route planned was?
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpkin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Herefordshire

PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desd wrote:
I'm using mapsource 6.11.5 as that's what came with my Zumo.


Could well be the KML file produced by Mapsource having sufficient attributes to show the route in detail, that would require a more current version. You can either use the 'check for software updates' in the Help menu or to be bang up to date go here. Using the former method with my v 6.13.4 says no update available yet the one at the URL above is 6.13.7.
_________________
Chas
Garmin i3, Quest & StreetPilot 2720 with GTM10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the auto update and now when I export a route it shows the route not just the waypoints ta fellas
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.093 (20 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping