Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Could someone check a UK postcode for me?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Could someone check a UK postcode for me?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
finisterre
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 02, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:55 am    Post subject: Could someone check a UK postcode for me? Reply with quote

N1 1LX is located in Liverpool Road, Islington, London.

When I look it up on TomTom it gives me Lonsdale Place, Islington, London.

Anyone else get this? If so, any idea why?

Thanks,

Fred.
(PocketPC with V6.010 (7720) and Western_and_Central_Europe v675.1409)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried both on Google maps and the are so close together, they could well be the same location. I also tried it on the teleatlas report site and it shows the postcode it the right place.

It could be a fluke, but if it is a concern you could report the error to teleatlas on thier website.
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
finisterre
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 02, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dom, but I did a reverse look-up on the post code and ALL addresses in it are LIVERPOOL ROAD addresses.

Can anyone try a look-up in TomTom.

Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:48 am    Post subject: Re: Could someone check a UK postcode for me? Reply with quote

finisterre wrote:
When I look it up on TomTom it gives me Lonsdale Place, Islington, London.

Anyone else get this? If so, any idea why?
Most, if not all, TTs will give the same result.

The problem is:

1. Because the TT is a device that Locks to the road, the road doesn't have to be drawn with High Precision. Try going down a Slip Road when the Route takes you straight on and it will be some time before the TT notices.

2. The Postcode location is defined as a lat/long co-ordinate. If you look up a Postcode on AutoRoute, Google or StreetMap, it is never shown exactly against the road (although sometimes more accurate than a TT).

So bearing in mind the 2 factors above, the TT searches for the nearest road to that co-ordinate, and snaps to it. In this instance there is only about a 20yard gap between the 2 roads. The graphic only has to be a couple of yards out and it chooses the wrong road.

My own method is if I get the wrong road for a Postcode Input, is to use Browse Map to find the location and then adjust the cursor and use Navigate to ... on the Browse Map Menu.

There are several ways of Route Selection and the Point on Map is probably the most accurate.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
finisterre
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 02, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Oldboy. It's at least nice to know why it happens.

I wonder if they'll ever be able to come up with a better and more foolproof solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think while Snap-to-Road is used, there will always be a problem.

However I think I would prefer not to see my position wandering off the road graphic while I'm driving along a road. Wink
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Different but similar problem. A couple of weeks ago I set TT to navigate me to Eastleigh, using city centre as the address. It actually took me to the centre of Chandlers Ford which is about 4 miles away.

But I have now tried using advance planning to find a route from the centre of Chandlers Ford to the centre of Eastleigh and it worked fine.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

City Centre (or Town/Village) behaves in a weird fashion sometimes. It seems to depict an area, rather than a location.

If you use Travel via, it will often just skirt round the Ring Road/Bypass and not even enter the City/Town/Village.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In TomTom Navigator 5.21 on my Pocket PC this postcode works fine. It shows as Liverpool Road in the list and displays on the map as Liverpool Road 201-279/130-164. So presumably a postcode data issue between versions.
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trafcam
Regular Visitor


Joined: 30/10/2002 11:57:49
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a quick look at the Postcode Address File (PAF) data from the Royal Mail for that postcode, and it seems to show as 53130 East, 18400 North. If you put that into www.streetmap.co.uk (you have to enter the postcode, then edit the obvious numbers in the address bar, including adding a zero on the end of each as they appear to use metre-precision) it does in fact point to Lonsdale Square. The numbers they (streetmap) have for N1 1LX are different, though, so I don't know where they come from. It implies that TomTom uses the PAF data, though.

I don't have that level of detail from later versions of the file (the one I quoted is probably a couple of years old) so I can't say whether it's changed. The grid easting and grid northing for a given postcode are the distance east and north, in tens of metres (hence the adding a zero earlier) to the mean centre of the postcode from a point a little south west of the Scilly Isles. Given the odd shape of some postcode areas I guess it's likely that some data might cause this issue, also there is no way to know the size of a postcode area from the data, only it's centre point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trafcam wrote:
.... only it's centre point.
And that's not always the case. Wink
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping