Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Upgrading TomTom 710 memory
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Upgrading TomTom 710 memory
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lostagaindammit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 05, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:12 pm    Post subject: Upgrading TomTom 710 memory Reply with quote

The original 1GB SD card in my TomTom 710 did not seem to have space to allow the TomTom to be updated any more, so it must be time to upgrade to 2GB. Fortunately, there is a nice FAQ on pocketgpsworld with detailed instruction.

OK - follow the instructions carefully. Remember to set up Explorer with the right file options, copy the stuff, plug in the new card. The TomTom puts up a nice animated display! Seems it wants me to take out the new card out and paint a big red "X" on it. Odd thing to do - I don't even like red.

After about an hour and a half of messing around (not all of it good tempered, to be honest), the new card is finally in, updated, and Jane reckons that if the garden wall she is sitting on turns right, it will reach its destination.

The basic notion of copying the files works. But I think the trick was to have the TomTom docked to the PC when the new card is installed. Unfortunately my research was not cool, calm and scientific enough to be sure - and I'm not doing it again! Does that make sense? Anyway whatever the trick is, it would make the next sufferer's life easier if it were in the FAQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tanda
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 21, 2005
Posts: 617
Location: Gloucester UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Just a few observations here. I recently copied my SD card to a 2GB card without any problems, so first of all, with all the windows explorer settings set correctly, select everything, and "copy", then wait till it has finished copying everything, then make a folder in "My Documents" or whatever, and paste everything, you now have a full copy on your computer. Now click on the icon next to the clock to "safely remove device", switch TomTom off, and swap cards. Switch TomTom on, and paste everything to new card, wait for it to finish, and safely remove device. While you have a copy on your computer, burn it onto a CD, incase you have problems with the computer and loose everything. Hope this helps anyone.
_________________
TomTom ONE, V2 New Edition (APP 7.903)
with UK & Republic of Irland Maps (660.1219)
Pocket GPS World Speed Zoned Camera Database With Liz Voice Warnings.
Lexar Premium 2GB SD Card 60x Speed.
TomTom HOME 2.10.1.500
Windows 10 Pro
Garmin etrex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The simple way (and it's storage, not memory) is using a card reader ...

TWO steps....

With Windows Explorer set to show all files and all extensions
1. Simply copy the entire contents of the card to a newly created directory on your PC.
2. Then put the brand new card into the reader and copy those contents (not the directory name of course) onto the new card.

The only complications are that TT Home starts when you put the original SD card into the reader - you ignore/minimise Home, then do the Win Explorer business, using the drive shown by the card reader.
Quote:
whatever the trick is, it would make the next sufferer's life easier if it were in the FAQ

You MUST disconnect properly when finished - either right click the drive and select Eject, or restore Home and click the My Device icon bottom left to disconnect it. Failure to disconnect properly will jigger things either slightly or massively depending on the current weather forecast.
Whether these are in the FAQ I do not know - the last time I RTFM was in 1986. Confused
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#8 on the FAQs Page should fit the bill.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lostagaindammit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 05, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks to those who took the time to read my post and respond. It was also kind of Oldboy to remind me where to find the FAQ that I was commenting on.

On reflection, I have a theory. One of the things I tried to do was to "restore" to the new card from TomTom HOME. This did not work, but it did zap all the data on the card - so possibly it formatted it. It looks as though there is Linux hiding somewhere under the TomTom's skin. Maybe it is not compatible with some oddball default format. I have seen something like FAT19-and-a-half on some flash devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Upgrading TomTom 710 memory Reply with quote

lostagaindammit wrote:

OK - follow the instructions carefully....


lostagaindammit wrote:
One of the things I tried to do was to "restore" to the new card from TomTom HOME.


You can't have done both! Laughing

This is why you see constant references on here about NOT using "Home" except when strictly neccessary....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostagaindammit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 05, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um, thanks Andy. Just to summarise.

1) Followed the instructions in the FAQ carefully
2) No luck
3) Tried other stuff
4) Sorted
5) Wondered if anybody would like to know
6) Naah
7) Goodbye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. The instructions here have worked for many, many other people.
2. We would have loved to know if there was a specific problem and solution you could share, but you didn't enlighten us.
3. Yeah we know the Go's work on Linux
4. Cheerio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Upgrading TomTom 710 memory Reply with quote

lostagaindammit wrote:
Anyway whatever the trick is, it would make the next sufferer's life easier if it were in the FAQ.

Indeed it may well do if we had any idea what the cause and or solution was. As even you don't appear to know, how are we supposed to update the FAQ??
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lostagaindammit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 05, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In a few cases, an SD card created according to these instructions may not work first time. This may be because the memory card is too slow (see separate FAQ item). It is also possible that your SD card has been supplied with inappropriate or broken formatting. To rectify this problem, install the card your reader, right-click, and select Format from the menu (make *very* sure that you format your SD card, nothing else!). Use the following settings:

File System = FAT32
Allocation Unit Size = Default allocation size
Volume Label = TomTom
Quick Format = [Not Checked]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Others posts recommend FAT (a.k.a FAT16), not FAT32.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thebinman
Banned


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 770

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P2002 wrote:
Others posts recommend FAT (a.k.a FAT16), not FAT32.


...but other posts have confirmed that FAT32 sorted out a problem that formatting to FAT had caused Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me? I wouldn't dare format a linux card or disk. That's what comes of being a soft old man.
Quote:
In a few cases, an SD card created according to these instructions may not work first time. This may be because the memory card is too slow
The first thing I saw when I looked at FAQ NUMBER [not #] 8 was the stonking great big picture illustrating it going wrong if you use a slow card.

By "FAQ NUMBER 8" I mean the one entitled 8/ How to copy my memory card to a new larger capacity one.

Maybe lostagaindammit looked at the wrong FAQdammit? Which goes some way to explaining why he complained that a FAQ would be of help. 8O

Doesn't it all just prove how right I am never to RTFM? Laughing
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thebinman wrote:
Andy_P2002 wrote:
Others posts recommend FAT (a.k.a FAT16), not FAT32.


...but other posts have confirmed that FAT32 sorted out a problem that formatting to FAT had caused Wink


...but the cards supplied by TomTom are formatted to FAT16 Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lostagaindammit wrote:
Um, thanks Andy. Just to summarise.

1) Followed the instructions in the FAQ carefully
2) No luck
3) Tried other stuff
4) Sorted
5) Wondered if anybody would like to know
6) Naah
7) Goodbye
Quote:
In a few cases, an SD card created according to these instructions may not work first time. This may be because the memory card is too slow (see separate FAQ item). It is also possible that your SD card has been supplied with inappropriate or broken formatting. To rectify this problem, install the card your reader, right-click, and select Format from the menu (make *very* sure that you format your SD card, nothing else!). Use the following settings:

File System = FAT32
Allocation Unit Size = Default allocation size
Volume Label = TomTom
Quick Format = [Not Checked]
With incredible good luck like yours, is there any chance you could send me a PM with next Saturday's Lotto numbers and could you do me a proxy entry for this month's competition so that I can have a shiny new GO?
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping