Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Initial problems with GTM 12
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Initial problems with GTM 12
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 7:32 pm    Post subject: Initial problems with GTM 12 Reply with quote

I have a 360 to which I have added a GTM12.

I have the latest firmware etc all updated today

GPS 2.90
GTM 4.20


The unit recognises the GTM 12 but I have no locks yet.

When I go a little deeper it appears I have "Subscriptions" to:

1. A 3 month Trial (presumably US)
2. Michelin (France)

I have looked onto the Garmin Website and entered my number and it wants to charge me $60 for subscription to Trafficmaster.

I had thought this was bundled with the GTM?


A couple of questions:

1. I presume I need to get the Trafficmaster enabled?
2. Is it really going to cost me more money?


Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the plot thickens.

I drove around today and it did find a channel and reported various traffic jams/slow traffic.


I then switched the unit off and it was lost............I didn't get it back.


Looks like dodgy reception.

Which is..........rubbish.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok more testing.

I set it up in the house and left it.

After about an hour it seems to have locked onto something and is now receiving messages.

However, when I go onto the "Subscriptions" page, it still tells me that my subscription will be enabled later.????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevei
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 22, 2005
Posts: 134
Location: Weymouth

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this... The GTM 12 is the same as the GTM 10

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=57434
_________________
Steve I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inspiredron
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2006
Posts: 287
Location: Ellesmere UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xspartx wrote:
Ok more testing.

After about an hour it seems to have locked onto something and is now receiving messages.

However, when I go onto the "Subscriptions" page, it still tells me that my subscription will be enabled later.????


They do that! They tell you that the subscription has not been activated and that it will be once the GPS logs on while traffic is being received. Don't worry, it's working - but like for most of us not very well! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right- further reports.


1. Firstly the location of the wire seems to make no difference. Accross the windscreen, scrunched up behind the unit, outside - all makes no difference to the reception.

2. reception seems to be "all or nothing" e.g. when the updates come in, they REALLY come in think and fast.


3. It normally takes 15 mins before any signal at all is received.


That said when it works, it does work quite well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One other thing, is there a way of checking that the unit is "receiving" without going back to the main menu and checking the GTM icon on there?


Seems a long winded way to check if a signal is being received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickwiggans
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 09, 2006
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where do you live? You won't get anything in the NW since the broadcasts have not been running since last December
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it seems very region dependent.


When I am in a region that broadcasts it finds signals almost instantly.

Then nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian_anastas
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2006
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Where does it work Reply with quote

xspartx wrote:

When I am in a region that broadcasts it finds signals almost instantly.

Then nothing.


I've never been able to get mine working (Had it just over a week). I've even driven up to my nearest transmitter (-0.12734, 51.59432, Alexandra Palace (196 0.1)) to see if I can get a signal.

Any chance you could list the region that broadcasts? I'm about to send it back.
[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xspartx wrote:
One other thing, is there a way of checking that the unit is "receiving" without going back to the main menu and checking the GTM icon on there?


Seems a long winded way to check if a signal is being received.


Even that icon is misleading. On my zumo it shows dark blue even if it is only locked to a correct frequency but not actually receiving anything. You have to go even deeper to find out if you are actually receiving data.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Where does it work Reply with quote

adrian_anastas wrote:
xspartx wrote:

When I am in a region that broadcasts it finds signals almost instantly.

Then nothing.


I've never been able to get mine working (Had it just over a week). I've even driven up to my nearest transmitter (-0.12734, 51.59432, Alexandra Palace (196 0.1)) to see if I can get a signal.

Any chance you could list the region that broadcasts? I'm about to send it back.
[/img]


Well the best example is if you are on the M40 travelling north around Stokenchurch.

The cut through the hills there is very pronounced with radio stations. e.g. if you are travelling north, you still get the London stations then suddenly after going through the cutting, the signal immediately stops.

Whenever I drive north, I get nothing until I pass through the cutting, then I get a signal immediately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian_anastas
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2006
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Where does it work Reply with quote

xspartx wrote:

Well the best example is if you are on the M40 travelling north around Stokenchurch. Whenever I drive north, I get nothing until I pass through the cutting, then I get a signal immediately.


Does that mean that around London you get no signal at all? I've just be given a replacement unit by Garmin, and it looks like it has the same issue. Lock onto channels 131 and 134 (Classic fm, who broadcast Itis) ad then after a while scrolls through other stations only to return to 131/134.

Does anyone in North London have a GTM 12 / Nuvi combo that works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragracer1260
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 06, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a GTM12 connected to a ZUMO that I use across London and out.

it works really well, even when plugged in indoors, picks up the first traffic info in about 1minute and seems to take about 3-5minutes before its received all its info.

One point though, my zumo has a option in tools to choose a set receiver frequency (of 2 I think) or for it to 'roam', i HAVE to let it roam as if I fix it to a frequency it doesn't pick up anthing at all.

Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simoh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the same combo (360 and GTM12) & live 10 mins from J6 on the M40. As you come from London, at the Stokenchurch pass (J6) you get a great view of the Thames valley and also a direct line of sight to Beckley mast transmitting Trafficmaster TMC on FoxFM. While in view of the aerial you'll get traffic info, but heading the other way, to London, once the Chiltern hills are behind you, nada.

I don't start getting traffic info again coming from J6 until around J2 of the M40. As I join the M25 anti-clock I'll get it for a while till J14-ish, then nothing until much further round towards the M23.

I think this is caused by 3 problems:

1. The string aerial/GTM12 isn't quite up to the job given the other 2 problems:
2. The RDS signal is transmitted at too low a signal strength.
3. The Trafficmaster TMC broadcast coverage isn't broad enough i.e. it needs to be transmitted on more stations.

The only one you can do anything about is 1; try to improve the performance of the unit itself. The others are up to government and commercial organisations.

Interested to hear from anyone who's managed to upgrade the GTM12's performance without resorting to external aerials.

Simoh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping