Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Making me exit the highway, then asks me to get back on asap
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Making me exit the highway, then asks me to get back on asap

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raffles
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:53 pm    Post subject: Making me exit the highway, then asks me to get back on asap Reply with quote

Are you getting this behavior at all? Once or twice every trip involving the highway, my PDA tells me to follow the next off-ramp off the highway, then immediately afterwards tells me to quickly get back on the same highway. It's doing this consistently now. If I choose to simply ignore these instructions, it wipes away the blue line it intends me to follow, and simply continues the original route along the main road we were going.

Totally odd.

Is it something to do with the options you're supposed to select (quickest/shortest route)? Is it trying to get me off the main road so we can follow a short-cut?

Or is it just a bug?

I'd love to hear from other users on this.

Raff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a routing bug that is present not just in Navigon software. Destinator and even TomTom are at times exhibiting this behaviour. The on-ramps and off-ramps of highways have slightly different weight than the highway itself, and the routing algorithm is a very fragile equilibrium of weights and speeds. Sometimes bad map data comes into play, in other instances the user changing speed settings (like with TomTom) is causing this to flip over.

You should report your exact route and the location where that happened to Navigon - those are excellent examples for them to fine (or rather the opposite?) tune their algorithms.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Raffles
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand the equilibrium argument, it is indeed a fine line the programmers need to walk. I also feel that GPS mouse position, proximity of a mobile phone, as well as surrounding terrain and of course the wheather may each play a role in the equation.

I now have a better sense of the whys and wherefores of this behaviour, and I won't be squandering any time tweaking my settings in order to get rid of a non-existing bug. I am a little surprised that this issue hasn't come up in the various Navigon-related forums I've visited lately.

Thank either way Lutz.

Raff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicky
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 12/08/2003 19:53:08
Posts: 264
Location: Secret Base in the Nevada Desert

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I have not had this one come up on my unit using the Navgion maps, I only use the Navigon maps in the UK,

When in the US I use TomTom and have had this happen a couple of times,

What country map are you finding this error on?.

Regards


Victoria
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raffles
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vicky,

I'm in Holland (using the Benelux mapping).

BTW, the one little detail I haven't mentioned is the fact that upon approaching one such off-ramps, the Medion displays not one but 2 blue route lines, the original one along the road ahead and the bug-induced one requesting me to exit the highway. The second one disappears, as I pass the exit.

Meanwhile I have used the Medion in two different cars (same GPS) and it's exhibited this behavior in both, in fact multiple times during each trip. Well, at least it's blatant enough that you can ignore it. Let's just hope it won't send us on a wild goose-chase in an urban area.

Raff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
66Mustang
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 31, 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Northampton, England

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:50 pm    Post subject: Off ramp detours Reply with quote

I've had this error, on the Bedford Southern Bypass (A421 from memory). Hooning along, it tells me to leave, go round the roundabout and re-join. I didn't obviously...

If anyone gives a monkeys, I'll take a look and confirm the exact location.

I've also had it send me on a major (8 mile) detour which would have brought me back onto the road I was travelling on originally 2 miles further down...(A45, Northamptonshire, Billing turn off).

Still, It's jolly good software really!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dick_Spanner
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had a similar experience near Rotherham in the UK where it brought me off the M1 motorway at junction 33, took me along the A631 which then crossed the M1 at junction 34 where I clearly should have exited.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raffles
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has been confirmed as a bug, plain and simple. So long as we ignore it, we'll be fine, no worries.

I just find it a little strange that apparently so few users are getting getting....

Raffles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dejongj
Regular Visitor


Joined: 06/02/2003 23:17:38
Posts: 118
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reported this one back in November. Mine is consistently taking me off the M1 @ J16 and then back on again. Haven't had it anywhere else, but always at that junction on the M1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.081 (03 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping