Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - SmartST V2 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

SmartST V2 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Onomatos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 21, 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SmartST v2 for gps4410 came with my 3450 Exclamation I purchased in May 04. It works flawlessly on my hp3650 (even with just 32mb ram); but the TeleAtlas maps were terrible so I email Navman and got the NavTech version (SmartST 1.96 sp2) free of charge :D . This version also works well with better maps. But the holy grail would be to use V2 with Navtech maps.

Steveee or anyone else, have you got it to work? Neither software would recognize the other's maps.

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you can use V2 with V1.96 maps, but not with V1.91.

First of all, remove V2 from your iPAQ and also from your desktop.
Install V1.96 on your desktop and iPAQ and then transfer the maps you want onto your storage card.
Remove V1.96 from both machines again and reinstall V2.
Run it!

The two niggles are that if you want to add to or change the maps on the storage card then you have to repeat the whole procedure and if you install to an SD card, the maps on it are tied to the iPAQ which was used initially. I don't know if this is the case if the maps are on a CF card as I haven't tried it.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kartracer
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 26/03/2003 20:15:33
Posts: 502
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Onomatos,

I bought a 4400 with V1.96 a week before the 4410 came out with V2. Upon request Navman sent me the V2 software upgrade. Because of a routing issue I carried on using the V1.96 maps with V2 software. In order to do this I had to install the maps to an SD card using the 1.96 map installer, and then insert the card into my Ipaq with V2 installed.

Since SP2 came out a couple of weeks ago I have switched to using the V2 maps as they have fixed the main routing issue which used to bother me (audio instructions incorrect at roundabouts). The Teleatlas maps appear to have a more precise visual representation. e.g. at certain B-road T-junctions the Navtech maps just show the T as a couple of lines roughly drawn with the vertical of the T overshooting into the field opposite, but on the Teleatlas maps the T is accurately represented right down to including fairly small traffic islands.

If you want to use 1.96 maps with V2, the V2 map installer with SP2 now seems to handle 1.96 maps just fine. I tested it this morning by installing the 1.96 Calais region of France using V2 map installer with SP2 applied. I would think it is probably not advisable to mix V1.96 and V2 maps though!

Kam
_________________
Kam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Onomatos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 21, 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to everyone who's helped. Following Tim's instructions, I am now indeed using Navtech maps with smartst v2 software! :D Does anyone know if I can mix/match POIs from one version to another? Maybe I'm asking for way too much? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you mean, mix and match POIs? I think they are built-in.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Onomatos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 21, 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean, could I use the POI data from the Teleatlas maps (v2) with the Navtech maps (1.96)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Onomatos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 21, 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After the success of V2 software with Navtech maps, I decided to try a little tinkering and now I have Navtech maps with POIs from the Teleatlas database set! I simply copied the correct files and replaced them with the ones specified in "curmaps.ini". Of course, I was able to do all of this because I have 2 storage cards where I installed Navtech and Teleatlas maps.
Woo Hoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping