Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - How do you find an address if you don't know the area?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

How do you find an address if you don't know the area?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jweaver
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: How do you find an address if you don't know the area? Reply with quote

I have been using TomTom for a couple of years and have a question that I never thought of asking!

How do you find an address, when you don't know the district that its in..

For example, lets take "Court Road" in Bristol.. If you look under 'Bristol' its not there.. Its actually in 'Kingswood'.. But how would you know this, unless you knew the area.

In most cases, you do know the full address, but its not too much of a problem... But this week I was going to "Burlington Ave" in "Kew", but couldn't find it. Since I knew where it was, I had to 'Browe Map" to find it.

It turns out that "Burlington Ave" is in RICHMOND not Kew (Atleast according to TomTom)..

So how do you get around this? I am amazed that there isnt' some kind of search facility in TomTom?

Has anyone got any tips to work around this?

Jon
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good one Jon. I occasionally get the same problem myself and it's a nightmare for a whitevanman delivering. Often, a road will show itself as "in" the town - I can sometimes get a suburban road from the urban city, e.g. Bristol .. Court Road, but a problem if it's not unique - may the saints protect me from High Street!!