Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - External antenna to TomTom TMC ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

External antenna to TomTom TMC ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulthetool
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 21, 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Clacton on sea, Essex

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:29 pm    Post subject: External antenna to TomTom TMC ? Reply with quote

I have been useing a TMC rx on my TT510 for the last 2 weeks
now and wonderd if anyone has managed to find how to fit a external
antenna to the unit?

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul, There is a lengthy thread on this topic which can be found Here - its got a strange title (it wandered off topic TBH) but there is now a wealth of information within it, have a look at the link / download provided by site member GizmoB73 on the first page, it contains some very useful information.

As always doing this type of work will invalidate any waranty with the device, if you damage it you can put it in the bin - if in any doubt don't do it - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
paulthetool
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 21, 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Clacton on sea, Essex

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that Mike.

Looks a easy thing to do.
will be doind mine in the morning

Thanks again

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
paulthetool
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 21, 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Clacton on sea, Essex

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that Mike.

Looks a easy thing to do.
will be doind mine in the morning

Thanks again

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hold fire on this if I were you - if you look in the TomTom GO forum you will see that TomTom have admitted a problem with these and are working on a replacement unit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamie
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AndyVaughan wrote:
Hold fire on this if I were you - if you look in the TomTom GO forum you will see that TomTom have admitted a problem with these and are working on a replacement unit


Hmm... Wonder if Garmin will do the same now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the Garmin device its a different problem, with the earlier versions of firmware/ software loaded the RDS-TMC actually worked quite well, since the Christmas "Upgrade" reception has been pathetic, once the software is sorted out I hope the Garmin unit returns to what it was, a functional unit 90% of the time - I don't know why it needed altering but thats progress, in this case one step forwards and ten back - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Hamie
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:

once the software is sorted out I hope the Garmin unit returns to what it was, a functional unit 90% of the time - I don't know why it needed altering but thats progress, in this case one step forwards and ten back - Mike


I wouldn't hold my breath. Garmin support are quite adamant that the unit works fine everywhere they say it should. And if it's not working its a user problem... Or a hardware fault. They just can't seem to grasp that because it works in their carpark down south doesn't mean it works on the M4 coming into London.

I really hope it is a firmware problem. Easy fix after all. But I suspect it's more the pathetic aerial they shoved on it without the ability to plugin an external one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hamie - I think it's fair to say that right now it's a combination of both - the latest couple of firmwares are nowhere near as good as the previous couple of firmwares, causing problems and lack of traffic (and someone, which I understand Garmin accept and are still working on).

However, you are also right that the little aerial struggles with the low signal strength in the UK - I've upgraded to a better aerial setup, yet still I don't have more than about 80-85% of the areas I travel with traffic signal coverage (although I should state that this is with v3.90 / v4.00, which, once fixed, might increase this figure). The lack of support for another external aerial is a great shame.

Also, there are definitely outages, which are not published. I went 2 days last week with no traffic, in areas that v4.00 had worked the days before without problem. Only the weekend the signal appears to have come back, but still not as good as it was.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hamie
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swing wrote:
the latest couple of firmwares are nowhere near as good as the previous couple of firmwares, causing problems and lack of traffic (and someone, which I understand Garmin accept and are still working on).



Where'd you get that undertanding from? I have a support call open at the moment... And they're adamant they haven't heard of any problems (In fact he was quite un-complimentary about the forums here & on gpspassion).

I have managed to get traffic pickups in Reading town centre (Around the hospital), parts of the southern permiter road at Heathrow (But not friday night for some reason), and that's about it. I get periodic traffic in my office, IF I lock the unit onto channel 187 first. But that's a bit flakey too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hamie wrote:
Where'd you get that undertanding from? I have a support call open at the moment... And they're adamant they haven't heard of any problems (In fact he was quite un-complimentary about the forums here & on gpspassion).


Oh really? What did he say as I'd be delighted to discuss that with Garmin's UK boss Smile
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hamie wrote:
swing wrote:
(and someone, which I understand Garmin accept and are still working on).

Where'd you get that undertanding from?
Someone at Garmin told a user in these forums that they were still working on it, even after v4.00 came out.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hamie
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swing wrote:
Hamie wrote:
swing wrote:
(and someone, which I understand Garmin accept and are still working on).

Where'd you get that undertanding from?
Someone at Garmin told a user in these forums that they were still working on it, even after v4.00 came out.


That's great if accurate. But garmin support just tell me there's no known problems. Hopefully the other user is right & my support contact just isn't aware (Which is scary in itself, but I understand how support generally works).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping