Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - postcode search
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

postcode search
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:31 pm    Post subject: postcode search Reply with quote

Hi,
how do i get the post code search to work in my french map? upgraded to map V6 and it doesn't work any more.

Ipaq 2215
tomtom 5.21
map V6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it is a France only Map then the Postcodes for UK won't work.

If you mean that you can't use a French Postcode Search in France, it's because they don't use Postcodes as we know them in the UK. Smile They do have area codes though.

Perhaps you could be a bit more specific with your query.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry its the area codes as in 34300. i can add a favourite if i know the address but cant use the area code in the post code window
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

before i upgraded to V6 i could use the "postcode feature" in my french map as in the area code then search through the roads to find the place i wanted. Now if i put in the area code i get somewhere in the UK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use Address | Street and House Number and then input the 34300 it will offer areas to which you can then add Street Names.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if i use address, the first screen to show is city, and there is no way to bypass this to input street and number then area code.
On my V5 map if i used postcode i could input the area code and the various towns in the area this related to came up, then the street, house number etc could be picked. Not so with this V6 map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my Map if I put in 34300, I'm offered Agde. If I select it then I can put in the Street. The first offered is Allee Bella Vista.

Is that happening with yours? Confused
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no when i put in 34300 i get union street aberdeen?????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confused

Do you have the France Plus Map?

Although it shouldn't make any difference, as 34300 is not a valid reference to anything in Aberdeen.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got france plus map v660, tried reinstall but get the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i go to post code, i get the window but with english places under where you input the post/area code Question think i'll try installing map on another card without the gb plus map and try post code again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok put france plus map on another card on its own and the post/area code works Question but if i use a card with GB plus and France plus it doesn't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

madasaman wrote:
Ok put france plus map on another card on its own and the post/area code works Question but if i use a card with GB plus and France plus it doesn't
I'm assuming you changed to the France Plus Map!?

If the France Map, on it's own Card works OK, then it should work OK when both Maps are on the same Card.

The TT only looks in one Map Folder at any one time. Confused
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oldboy wrote:
madasaman wrote:
Ok put france plus map on another card on its own and the post/area code works Question but if i use a card with GB plus and France plus it doesn't
I'm assuming you changed to the France Plus Map!?

If the France Map, on it's own Card works OK, then it should work OK when both Maps are on the same Card.

The TT only looks in one Map Folder at any one time. Confused


Well I thought so as well, but it wasn't working. Will format disc tomorrow and reinstall both maps, putting france plus on first and see if that works. Just back from the local and too tired (sic) to try now. Guudnight. Laughing Out Loud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madasaman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well tried uninstalling and reinstalling everything but got the same issue, then i tried putting the postal zip folder into the GB plus folder and hey the france post/area code works and so does the GB post code. Didn't have to do that with the previous maps. But hey if it works huh. think this post can be closed, and thanx for the help oldboy :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.053 (18 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping