Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Some very basic help required
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Some very basic help required
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
martike
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Some very basic help required Reply with quote

I have no experience with Tom Tom so I wasn’t able to help my friend very much when she found that she had problems.

Maybe someone can answer some very basic questions.

She has a Tom Tom ONE with an SD Card (I think it’s 128Mb) with BeNeLux pre-loaded. She also has all the maps of Western Europe on a DVD, which she can’t read (!) but that’s her PC hardware causing that problem.

Assuming I can fix that, can anyone tell me how to get the maps off this DVD and into the ONE unit ? Is there a utility on the DVD to handle this, or is it a straight copy/paste operation ?

How much space is available for this sort of copy ? The ONE unit allows a whole range of maps to be present, with the option to select any one, but the application must take up most of the space on the card. To get Germany, for example, onto her SD card, will she need to first delete BeNeLux ? 128 Mb doesn’t seem to be very much.

What size SD card would be necessary to store (for example) BeNeLux, Germany, and France ?

How would she upgrade from her existing SD card to a larger one ? Backup from the old one and restore to the new ?

Thanks.
tonygold
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote