Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Hardwiring a TomTom car kit
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Hardwiring a TomTom car kit
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Hardware and Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
markfraser
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 5:41 pm    Post subject: Hardwiring a TomTom car kit Reply with quote

Not being a car expert I'm a bit catious about doing the above. I have no desire to screw up band new Avensis! There's a blank switch cover - should I start there?
Darren
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a good place to start as you can easily replace a blank switch plate. It's not hard but you need to remember that the cigarette lighter power lead supplied contains electronics to reduce the 12v vehicle power to 5v so you can't just cut it off and wire the power lead into the vehicle supply.

I bought a cigarette lighter extension lead, cut off the male end and tapped into the rear of the center console 12v supply to the cigarette lighter socket. I then ran the extension under the dash to a coinveninet point and connected the iPAQ cigare power lead to this. You MUST ensure it's properly insulated to prevent shorts etc. I also added a second blade type fuse in the extension as a precaution an taped all the connections with insulating tape.
markfraser
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A lead for this purpose comes in the box so it should be okay to just wire it in then maybe?
Darren
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote