Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - iGO 2006 review
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

iGO 2006 review
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NavNGo iGO
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome . As you already mentioned - the most important aspect of it is to have a good and restorable backup. Everything else is easy riding (or tumbling).
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Appletom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 04, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ibendlin. I hope as a newbie I can get a pass on this query - I'm sure it has been asked and answered (and I've looked!) before.

I cannot access any files on my Mio. I've installed Mio Transfer, Mio Transfer can see the GPS is attached (the screen grays out when I unplug) but there are no files listed on the right side of the MT screen, using Windows Explorer tells me there is nothing on/in the "E" drive.

Question So - how do I dig out those .csv and .zip files that are on Mio's internal memory?

The Mio screen changes as I plug it into the computer, when plugged in there are three icons - a folder in front of a screen on the left, a usb symbol on the right, and a Mio with a hand pointing to the sD card with an "X".

Putting an sD card in allows MT to see the contents of my sD card, but I can't see anything on the Mio Flash memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Appletom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 04, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I've done it - I ran (don't ask me why) "Restore VioMap V3.2 Software" from the DVD and now I get a "Map initialisation (sic) error - Couldn't find any map files" when I try to start Mio GPS.

HELP! 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Appletom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 04, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figured it out via the FAQ at the Mio website. I don't have a DVD player on my computer (never thought I would need one when I built this guy 1.5 years ago) so I had transfered the contents of the DVD over our network to my local hard drive.

After running Restore VioMap V3.2, you need to transfer the maps. On my local machine, I was told that was not allowed. But by plugging Mio into my wife's computer - the one with a DVD reader - I am able to push the maps back onto the GPS unit. There must be some cross check from the application to make sure you have a legit copy of the maps - they transfer easily (and very slowly) directly from the DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IstvanSz
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 07, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
We would like to ask you to try and test our new service.
Please, send your judgements to the given e-mail addresses on the site.

Thank you very much!
iGO team

http://translation.i-go.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 03, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IstvanSz wrote:
Hi!
We would like to ask you to try and test our new service.
Please, send your judgements to the given e-mail addresses on the site.

Thank you very much!
iGO team

http://translation.i-go.com/

The language I tested (finnish) worked very fine!
It has some grammar problems, but I'm sure you'll work it out.
The fluency in the spoken language was excellent. For my opinion, Destinator or TomTom doesn't have so fluent "speaker".
Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slinkoff
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would it be possible for someone with the phillipa voice and a fully edited commande.csv and any extra .ogg files to upload the zip file somewhere for people to download? It would be a very useful thing to have available for IGO/MioMap users.


If not, I'll just have to decipher these posts and have a stab at editing things myself but a download would be much easier!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ludolf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 05, 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anyone out there who can shed some light on the meaning of more, near and equal in the .CSV files? Having started piggling because there's a staggered junction near our house that produced
Quote:
BINK! In 80 metres turn slightly right then next left.
BINK! Take the next left then next sharpBINK! take the next sharply right.
and I've got hooked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wiseyoda
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 3:26 pm    Post subject: Question to Guru Reply with quote

In constructions like
,"500[more,set_1]","PREPARE_TO ENTER ROUNDABOUT IN %dist",
,"200[more,set_2]","PREPARE_TO ENTER ROUNDABOUT IN %dist",

What do parameters “set_1” and “set_2” mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adjudaris
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to edit the "drive more then ...."

I tried several changes. But can not find out in what section this must be
changed.

Any one

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two places that this annoying command is located. Both are in the voice zip file. The first seems to be in distances_yd.csv (used in the miles/yards option). The instruction for 11 miles is 'more_than 10 miles' you could try changing this to '11 miles'. I havn't tried it but it might work.
The other which I have done and works and gets rid of the 'drive 5.3 miles' etc. is in the commands.csv, commands_yd.csv and commands_ft.csv files. Change each occurrence of drive %dist to the command below it. Such as (in commands_yd.csv)

template roundabout
1000[more] drive %dist
500[more,set_1] prepare_to enter roundabout in %dist take %exit exit

Change to

template roundabout
1000[more] prepare_to enter roundabout in %dist take %exit exit
500[more,set_1] prepare_to enter roundabout in %dist take %exit exit

Also if you delete the 'prepare_to' it may improve your appreciation of the voice commands.
The example above will change 'drive 6 miles' to 'enter roundabout in 6 miles take third exit' (Distance and exit as appropriate)

You need to edit the files in a text editor and re-insert them back into the zip file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adjudaris
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I was not clear enough I think.

I am using the Dutch language and it's using the commands.csv.

I did put a 0 in front of all the commands I don't want e.g.
the 800 and 500 meters. I also deleted the ogg's starting with "prepare"

All seems right I only get the roundabout message 200 meters prior.
Leaving the highway is now at 3000 meters, 1000 meters and 200 meters.

The turning anouncements, I only have two now.

But, when entering the highway and leaving the highway I still get a message on the acces and exit to drive more then 500 or 700 meters before the message drive more then (e.g.) 32 km.

So I would like to stop the message less then 2 km and leave the longer ones.

I know that you work in miles, but the commands must be the same I gues.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that I possibly have the answer. I had a look at the distances.csv in the Dutch file and found that there were lots of 'Drive more than' commands.
If you have a look at the distances.csv in the English version, all the distances have the correct command instead of 'drive more....'
Have a look at it and see what you thimk.
I don't have any motorways near me to test the theory on.
Please let me know the result of your findings.

Trevor

PS. Perhaps the Dutch sound files do not contain all the correct words and phrases to fully implement the distances as in the English version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adjudaris
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The original dutch and englisch voices are exactly the same. And both are announcing - Enter motorway (snelweg) in .... meters and Exit motorway in ... meters

I changed the template h_enter",,,"highway enter" and put a zero in front of all the announcments, I dont need them.
In template exit motorway I only have the 1000 and 150 meters left.

Now instead of Enter motorway in ... meters I now get Drive more then (e.g) 500 meters and after I entered the motorway (point zero) then Drive more then ... kilometers.
The point is I would like to have announcments when I need to drive more then 1000 meters but not below.

I will investigate further and when I found something will let it know

Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Harry
I wonder if it's the way that you are removing commands that you don't want allowing the call from the application software to 'drop through' to a command that you are not expecting. Although I understand ' put a zero in front of all the announcments, I dont need them', I am not certain exactly where you are putting the zero, can you give an example please?
I remove commands that I don't want by inserting a few commas to shift the command into the remark 'column' Col 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NavNGo iGO All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.103 (20 Oct 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping