Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navigating from Contacts List
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navigating from Contacts List

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Storm1979
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 30/08/2003 01:20:08
Posts: 11
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:00 am    Post subject: Navigating from Contacts List Reply with quote

I'm using TomTom Nav 2, and I'm having problems when trying to Navigate from the contacts list on my IPAQ3850. This is because there doesn't appear to be any way to change it over to UK format from US. I.e. it uses state and zipcode, which TomTom doesn't understand.

After speaking to Compaq they confirmed that there is no way to alter the region format for the Contacts program.

So I was wondering how the rest of you did it? Do you use different software?

Just to clarify, if you click on add new contact, scroll down to the address section and click on the small downward facing arrow, then you'll get a pop up window where you enter addresses line by line.

Any help will be appriciated!

Mike

---
For any moderators reading this - I relise I intially posted in the wrong thread, so I'm posting here - but can't figure out to delete my old post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Storm1979,

you will have to keep in mind that there are two worlds - the world outside, and the world according to TomTom. TomTom (as many other navigation programs) keep only a particular version of a street naming, and if you write "Taylor Street" and in their database it says "Taylor Road" (how ever wrong that may be) then it will not find "Taylor Street", no matter how you try.

We had discussed it earlier in this forum that it is somewhat silly to get told by a little application how you have to write your home address, but currently the only way to solve yourt problem is to adjust your Pocket Outlook contact details to the data that TomTom has for that place. (And you can ignore state or postcode, wouldn't help anyhow).

Try and find a place on the TomTom map that's at the same spot as your contact address in Pocket Outlook. Then compare how the street name and the town name are written. "Adjust" it in Outlook to the way TomTom wants it, and you will be able to navigate to that address. I know, sounds silly...

(have removed your old post as per your request)
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.023 (21 Feb 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping