Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Globalsat Bt308 and Destinator2
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Globalsat Bt308 and Destinator2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dasboot
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:27 am    Post subject: Globalsat Bt308 and Destinator2 Reply with quote

Wondered if anyone has any information that could help me, I've had a browse through the forum and found some relevant info about my question but there aren't any real specifics, well there may be but as I am a newbie to all this I am perhaps a little dumb.
I have a 3970 and a BT308, and have been happily using this setup with TT2 for a while. Recently my friend bought Destinator 2 and having seen it, I thought the map detail was better (well it had my street on it !!)
I borrowed his Ipaq (same as mine) and gave him mine in return so that I could trial Destinator, after a bit of a job getting it to recognise my BT308 I set off to test it. I was impressed by the local road data, it far exceeded that of TT2, but alas one thing blew it out of the water for me. It seemed to lag miles behind where my actual position was whilst driving, so when I had a couple of consecutive route turns it completely lost where I was and missed directions.
Now reading the other forums it seems that Destinator has problems using the NMEA protocol, which my BT308 is using, so really any chance of me purchasing it are out of the question unless I can find an answer to this lag.
Is there something I can do to change settings to help this, either with the GPS or with Destinator?