Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury 4 bedroom villa for rent in the Disney Orlando Florida area.
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - What games is TomTom playing?!?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

What games is TomTom playing?!?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sirox
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 01, 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:41 am    Post subject: What games is TomTom playing?!? Reply with quote

A few days ago I received from TomTom the new Navigator 6 software with maps of Western Europe.
This is a DVD, which will install TomTom Home on your computer and from there you can install everything either on a connected device or directly on a memory card via a card reader.

Now, there are four version of the application on the DVD:

1) for Palm
2) for PocketPC
3) for S60
4) for Symbian UIQ 3rd edition

Number 4 is the new SonyEricsson P990i and M600. Why are these phones not mentioned in their compatibility list when their specific software is in the DVD?!?!?!?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lennart
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 21/05/2003 13:02:15
Posts: 27
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this is the exact combination I have been looking for
SE P990i + TomTom

But as you say, nothing on the TT web

They have a lot to learn about PR and taking care of existing customers
I have been very close to go for another combination, but I'll wait

Do you have any possibiility of testing to install it on a P990i or another UIQ3 device?

//Lennart
_________________
TomTom GO LIVE Camper & Caravan, Fugawi ENC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirox
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 01, 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lennart wrote:
Wow, this is the exact combination I have been looking for
SE P990i + TomTom

But as you say, nothing on the TT web

They have a lot to learn about PR and taking care of existing customers
I have been very close to go for another combination, but I'll wait

Do you have any possibiility of testing to install it on a P990i or another UIQ3 device?

//Lennart

No, I do not own any UIQ device, and I don't know anyone who does.
But trust me, there is no risk. If you buy Navigator 6 Software on DVD the application for UIQ3 is there, you just can't go wrong!
I have to add that there is no UIQ2 version, so bad luck for P910 and previous devices...
I am also assuming that the S60 software is only for S60 3rd edition, as there is just one version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artesea
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 09, 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if anyone can get this to work on the P990i/M600i please let us know. i'm still waiting for an offical confirmation from TomTom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eldar
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Sep 24, 2004
Posts: 1294
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirox wrote:

No, I do not own any UIQ device, and I don't know anyone who does.
But trust me, there is no risk.


you can always send him the application just to see if it installs and if he could get to the "no maps found" bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirox
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 01, 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eldar wrote:
sirox wrote:

No, I do not own any UIQ device, and I don't know anyone who does.
But trust me, there is no risk.


you can always send him the application just to see if it installs and if he could get to the "no maps found" bit.

OK, I can send the application with no maps, just to see if it works.
Who has a P990i to try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ivy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 31, 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirox wrote:

OK, I can send the application with no maps, just to see if it works.
Who has a P990i to try?

I have a M600i and I can try.
Sent you a MP to give you my mail address.
Will post result here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkrashid
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I Have an M600i with latest firmware etc, send it to me if u like, i can test it in the morning and post some screenshots etc if it works,
thanks,
pm'd u email etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bjorne
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:59 am    Post subject: TT & P990 Reply with quote

I have the P990 (buggy little thing)

Have sent you my email, great if I could try out. I'm no trying wayfinder and its not really working....

Saludos from Spain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirox
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 01, 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys,

The app is on its way to all three of you. I have noticed that the UIQ3 version is 6.20, while the software for all other platforms is only 6.10.

I hope you can manage to install it though, as it is a CAB file that is supposed to be unpacked by TomTom Home and then installed.
I guess you can try copying the whole content of the CAB file to a memory card, and then launch the SIS file from within the device.

I am not sure though.

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artesea
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 09, 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just unzipped the CAB file, drop the result onto my memory card, then inserted in it my P990i
I was prompted to install TomTom 6.02 and then got the flash screen, which country, which voice and which map questions. However without any maps can't get any further. So it looks like it should work.... SmileSmileSmile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
espenjoh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: tomtom Reply with quote

ca i try this as well ? A have a M600, and i want to try this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkrashid
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

artesea wrote:
I just unzipped the CAB file, drop the result onto my memory card, then inserted in it my P990i
I was prompted to install TomTom 6.02 and then got the flash screen, which country, which voice and which map questions. However without any maps can't get any further. So it looks like it should work.... SmileSmileSmile


Same here with my M600i Got Janes Wonderful voice from tomtom navigator 5 for my lifedrive working Laughing Out Loud, Just on a map select screen, So maybe it will work!! Hurrah! Think ill purchase this dvd right away!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ime95mos
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

artesea wrote:
I just unzipped the CAB file, drop the result onto my memory card, then inserted in it my P990i
I was prompted to install TomTom 6.02 and then got the flash screen, which country, which voice and which map questions. However without any maps can't get any further. So it looks like it should work.... SmileSmileSmile


So where on the memory card did you unzip it? In a folder or?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirox
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 01, 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using Navigator 5 maps, just to see if it works?
I can't send you any maps, as they are too large, and probably also illegal...
In any case, I really cannot understand why TomTom behaves this way!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.074 (28 Jul 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping