Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Poor navigation in Devon
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Poor navigation in Devon

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NAVTEQ Digital Map Data
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SouthHams
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:35 pm    Post subject: Poor navigation in Devon Reply with quote

After driving around now for a few weeks with my Navteq maps I find that the road choices are very poor and at times are likely to cause vehicle damage.

For example, when driving in the South hams between Lodiswell and Kingsbridge on a minor A road the route diverts from the road down a very steep un-made road.

Looking at the displays there seems to be no distinction between roads, except for Motorways and A roads.

This is in sharp contrast with the TeleAtlas maps on my TomTom ONE, which almost always finds the routes a local would choose.

Has anyone else had this experience?
_________________
Orange SPV C600
TomTom 920T 8.300 Maps 815.2003 and New Zealand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Garmin CitySelect Maps which are based on NavTeq maps.

This is a known problem:-
Quote:
Looking at the displays there seems to be no distinction between roads, except for Motorways and A roads.

and the best way to overcome this is to set my unit to 'Truck' instead of 'Car'.

I've set the route you mentioned and can supply you with a screenshot of the resultant route.
As this forum does not allow posting of screenshots [jpeg] - if you are interested, send me your email address in a Private Message and I will send you the screenshot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strumble wrote:
As this forum does not allow posting of screenshots [jpeg] .

Actually you can post images so long as they are hosted elsewhere, simply enclose the full path in [img] and [/img] quotes.

Alternatively email me the image and I'll host it and post it in this thread Smile
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a Garmin iQue 3600 with CitySelect Europe v7. [January 2005] I enclose two PC screenshots of software on the PC. [Settings-fastest route rather than shortest and ‘main roads’] .

One is with Truck selected.

The other is with Car selected.

If you need other screenshots let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SouthHams
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

strumble wrote:
I use a Garmin iQue 3600 with CitySelect Europe v7. [January 2005] I enclose two PC screenshots of software on the PC. [Settings-fastest route rather than shortest and ‘main roads’] .

One is with Truck selected.

The other is with Car selected.

If you need other screenshots let me know.


Thanks for the Info but neither of these are close to the correct route which should follow signed road which goes through Sorley on your map.

My Navteq route is different to both of these !!

The system costs £1750 and this is a very poor result.

Do Navteq read this board?
_________________
Orange SPV C600
TomTom 920T 8.300 Maps 815.2003 and New Zealand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rossb
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2004
Posts: 79
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a Garmin C320. On my C320 I have an option to avoid "unpaved roads". Do you have this option.

I have also found with Navteq, setting the routing logic to fastest rather than shortest helps avoid un-made roads.

Try setting to fastest route, truck and see what happens. Try it again with car.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SouthHams
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rossb wrote:
I use a Garmin C320. On my C320 I have an option to avoid "unpaved roads". Do you have this option.

I have also found with Navteq, setting the routing logic to fastest rather than shortest helps avoid un-made roads.

Try setting to fastest route, truck and see what happens. Try it again with car.


Sorry rossb,

I'm afraid I don't have any options other than "fastest" or "shortest". Just £1750 of useless BMW/Navteq junk.

p.s. The TomTom routes correctly.
_________________
Orange SPV C600
TomTom 920T 8.300 Maps 815.2003 and New Zealand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milkfloat
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to let you know on your system the Routing Algorithm is not supplied by NAVTEQ. This is a VDO product. The Maps are from NAVTEQ but how VDO chose to use them is not down to NAVTEQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to be hinest in testing the non factory fitted devices do tend to route better than vdo etc

we have one truck with a vdo daytona systerm and even copilot 5 and 6 produce better routes and tomtom knocks spots off it
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
SouthHams
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Milkfloat wrote:
Just to let you know on your system the Routing Algorithm is not supplied by NAVTEQ. This is a VDO product. The Maps are from NAVTEQ but how VDO chose to use them is not down to NAVTEQ.


Thanks for the comment Milkfloat but if you follow the thread the problem is also there with the Garmin iQue 3600 with CitySelect Europe v7.

The software predicts the shortest and quickest route but the road classification is wrong on the map. The unsurfaced road is rated the same as the "B" road.
_________________
Orange SPV C600
TomTom 920T 8.300 Maps 815.2003 and New Zealand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milkfloat
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SouthHams wrote:
Milkfloat wrote:
Just to let you know on your system the Routing Algorithm is not supplied by NAVTEQ. This is a VDO product. The Maps are from NAVTEQ but how VDO chose to use them is not down to NAVTEQ.


Thanks for the comment Milkfloat but if you follow the thread the problem is also there with the Garmin iQue 3600 with CitySelect Europe v7.

The software predicts the shortest and quickest route but the road classification is wrong on the map. The unsurfaced road is rated the same as the "B" road.


Again NAVTEQ do not supply the routing algorithms for these products either. There are very very few products that do not use their own proprietary algorithm. Poor route selection is entirely down to the manufacturer of the sat nav unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rossb
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2004
Posts: 79
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Milkfloat

Southams says the unsurfaced road is rated the same as a B road, so this is a mapping error? Should he report it to Navteq?

To be fair to Navteq, I am sure road classification errors do happen, human error perhaps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Motty
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Cheltenham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked the road on an OS map? There are a few roads in the Cotswolds near me that my Garmin i3 takes me that are classified as normal roads on road and OS maps but when you get to them they say "Not suitable for motor vehicles".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milkfloat
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rossb wrote:
Milkfloat

Southams says the unsurfaced road is rated the same as a B road, so this is a mapping error? Should he report it to Navteq?

To be fair to Navteq, I am sure road classification errors do happen, human error perhaps.


There 'should' be no way that an unsurfaced road is catagorised as a B road, as all roads that at at that class will have been driven by field personel many times. However, if you submit the error NAVTEQ will send someone down to Devon to check it out. The chances are it will alreday have been picked up, even though it may not be reflected in the software you are using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NAVTEQ Digital Map Data All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping