Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 30 min to calculate 750 km itinerary?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

30 min to calculate 750 km itinerary?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rtang
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:42 pm    Post subject: 30 min to calculate 750 km itinerary? Reply with quote

If anyone experienced would care to comment:

after upgrading to TT Nav 5 version 5.2 yesterday the system takes a very long time to calculate itineraries.

- I'm new to this so may not be aware of what's 'normal' (no mention of this in manual etc.) but should it take 20 min+ to calculate a 750 km itinerary (Geneva to north of Cologne Germany). Takes forever - very slowly counting down the kilometers etc.

- Is there something I'm missing, some kind of setting?

thanks a lot

Rudi Tangermann

PS: my problem of hung PDA every time when deviating from calculated route, with version 5.04 of the software and Tungsten E2, disappeared after loading version 5.2
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try a different brand of SD card, this is having a big impact on calculation speed.

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
PONDEROUS
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a user of both TomTom 5 and Copilot 6, I have always been disappointed by the time TT 5 takes to calculate routes. Copilot will calculate a 400-mile route from South Lincolnshire to Aberdeen, UK in less than a second, while TT 5 takes almost 4 minutes with my existing hardware.