Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - PiN 570 impressions
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

PiN 570 impressions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Adek
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:19 pm    Post subject: PiN 570 impressions Reply with quote

Hi there, I am new to the world of sat nav, and since I like gadgets have gone for the PiN 570. some of my impressions and questions are having the unit for about a week :

(1)seemed to work out of the box as it was supposed to, however, the GPS signal seems to take a while to find (10mins??). The car doesn't have a heated or athermic windscreen so not sure why this is not too good. any ideas on getting this to work better?

(2) pocket PC seems to be a little quirky- I have a dell pc at home, a laptop, all linked through a WiFi router and using win XP, so I am not a complete no brainer, but I can't seem to move files around very easily on the PDA - always seems to try and open them instead of letting me move them. Is this normal with pocket pc? I am used to using windows explorer and handling my files as I so please.

(3)the UK postcode or house number search ain't too hot. On multimap on the web you enter a postcode and it finds it- on smart ST it seems to give a range most of the time particularly for house numbers (eg. #14 to24) so it finds the street OK but less good at the house. not a big problem but interesting.