Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Globalsat SD-502 Compatibility
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Globalsat SD-502 Compatibility
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MikeB
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 20/08/2002 11:51:57
Posts: 3858
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:26 pm    Post subject: Globalsat SD-502 Compatibility Reply with quote

Please post your success/failures with getting the SD-502 to work with your PDA, and software.

Mine works fine with my XDAII and Memory-map.
_________________
Mike Barrett
Editor, PocketGPSWorld.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mehanik
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 09, 2004
Posts: 26
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Work with iPAQ h2210 and hx4700.
_________________
Mikhail E. Veselov
http://www.globalsat.su
GlobalSat Russia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RW
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 30, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working fine with IPAQ 5550 and TomTom v.5.21.
Need to perform a soft reset after inserting SDIO card, then Settings, System, Memory, Storage Card and select GPSDisk Card. Map(s) can the be installed on the card using Active Sync (not card reader).
Specify GPS hardware settings on TomTom to: Other NMEA GPS, 4800 baud, COM4.
Appears to work well; good battery life, in excess of 3 hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyD2
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 13, 2004
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The compatibility list has just been updated to include new models that have recently been tested...

http://www.easydevices.co.uk/pp/Receivers/GLOBALSAT_SD502_SDIO_GPS_RECEIVER_WITH_512MB_MEMORY.html
_________________
www.easydevices.co.uk

Tel: 0871 7000 156
Globalsat UK Distributor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
hacksawbob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 18, 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cant seem to get this working with Tmobile MDA compact. Tried several com ports at 4800 baud and cant get it responding with the GPSinfo application, also cant see the storage card anywhere if I try to browse for it. Maybe got a faulty card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyD2
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 13, 2004
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you installed the latest driver (version 1.32)?

It can be found here under the section headed Drivers, Utilities & Setup Guides ...


http://www.easydevices.co.uk/main.asp?sitepages=Downloads
_________________
www.easydevices.co.uk

Tel: 0871 7000 156
Globalsat UK Distributor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xda
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 1199
Location: Park Gate

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hacksawbob wrote:
Cant seem to get this working with Tmobile MDA compact. Tried several com ports at 4800 baud and cant get it responding with the GPSinfo application, also cant see the storage card anywhere if I try to browse for it. Maybe got a faulty card?


The storage card should show up as "GPSDisk Card". Assuming the MDA is the same as an XDA 2 in GPSinfo I had to set mine to Comm 7 GPSUart at 4800. You don't say which navigation software you are using, I'm still with TomTom V3 but to get it to work with that version you need to delete/Uninstall the TT GPS driver and install the V2.06 driver which is on this site. The TT GPS V3.07 won't let you enable Comm port 7.
If you use Active sync you will need to set it to update the PC files from the PPC to update the TomTom files stored on the PC otherwise it will put the old TomTom config files back on the PPC.
Other than that it works fine with TomTom and Memory Map
_________________
Graham.
TT Go720, App:9.510(1234792.1) OS:842337
GPS: V1.20, Boot: 5.5279, Home: V2.9.5.3093
Map: Europe V910.4892
Map: Europe_Truck V870.3421, Kingston 8GB SD
Nokia 925 Windows 8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hacksawbob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 18, 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thanks for the quick response, I have tried it with the 1.32 driver, and I have also updated my phone ROM just to make sure. Tha manual wasn't clear whether I needed to run GPSinfo on the PPC and the PC at the same time. However I get COM1 and COM2 returning NO DEVICE on the PC. On the PPC I have the following ports
COM1: Serial,
COM2: Serial_CMD
COM3: IRCOMM
COM4: BTIBserial
COM5: BTOBserial
COM9: Serial_Data
I have tried them all at 4800 baud unpluging my card between each attempt to "start GPS". I read in the manual something about bluetooth ports running at 38400 so I have tried this on com4 and 5

XDA thanks for that, I want to run TT5 but I haven't even got that far just trying to get it working with the GPSinfo application. Memory doesn't show up in the system settings memory. i dont suppose any 'round the Bolton area in the UK has a phone I could plug it into to see if its the card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xda
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 1199
Location: Park Gate

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hacksawbob wrote:
Hi thanks for the quick response, I have tried it with the 1.32 driver, and I have also updated my phone ROM just to make sure. Tha manual wasn't clear whether I needed to run GPSinfo on the PPC and the PC at the same time. However I get COM1 and COM2 returning NO DEVICE on the PC. On the PPC I have the following ports
COM1: Serial,
COM2: Serial_CMD
COM3: IRCOMM
COM4: BTIBserial
COM5: BTOBserial
COM9: Serial_Data
I have tried them all at 4800 baud unplugging my card between each attempt to "start GPS". I read in the manual something about bluetooth ports running at 38400 so I have tried this on COM4 and 5

XDA thanks for that, I want to run TT5 but I haven't even got that far just trying to get it working with the GPSinfo application. Memory doesn't show up in the system settings memory. i don't suppose any 'round the Bolton area in the UK has a phone I could plug it into to see if its the card?


What you are getting is the same as I initially got when I first installed the SD-502 driver.
When you first install the SD-502 it's green led should be on continuously, then after about 5 minutes should start flashing. This means it has now got a satellite fix.
The problem I had was that the XDA wasn't making the comm 7 available, because I already had TomTom installed with the V3.07 GPS driver that was stopping me from selecting comm 7 which the SD-502 was using.
It was also setup to use my original TomTom wired GPS.
Once I had removed the V3.07 GPS driver I still got what you are seeing ie no comm 7. Installing the V2.06 GPS driver allowed me to set comm 7 in GPSinfo and I had 6 Sats showing.
I would suggest that you install your TomTom V5, this should then make the additional comm ports available that GPSinfo hasn't got yet, once you have installed TomTom and TomTom GPS you can access the TomTom GPS from the Program menu and then select the com port that the SD-502 is using.
_________________
Graham.
TT Go720, App:9.510(1234792.1) OS:842337
GPS: V1.20, Boot: 5.5279, Home: V2.9.5.3093
Map: Europe V910.4892
Map: Europe_Truck V870.3421, Kingston 8GB SD
Nokia 925 Windows 8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hacksawbob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 18, 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No joy I'm affraid, did a hard reset, removed the existing SD card so completely clean install of PPC. Installed GPSinfo and then installed driver GPSDisk.v132.armv4.cab ran it , then soft reset, then pluged in GPSdevice still not registering. No memory card showing and NO DEVICE listed in GPSinfo on the PC
GPSinfo on the PPC only shows the same ports
COM1: Serial,
COM2: Serial_CMD
COM3: IRCOMM
COM4: BTIBserial
COM5: BTOBserial
COM9: Serial_Data

I suppose it could be the phone but without another one to test it in All I can do is return it and hope another one works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wonderbadger
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 10, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got my SD502 this morning and installed it on my Medion PPC200, worked first time with GPS info and nav software so that can be added to the list of compatable devices :D (which is good as I would be rather annoyed otherwise Laughing Out Loud)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wonderbadger
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 10, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOH... above should read PPC250 not 200 Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teb
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hacksaw you arent the only one with this problem! i have a qteks110 which is essentially the same as the mda compact and i cannot activate com port 7. it appears to be gettin a satellite fix but the pda isnt detecting the sd card. i have pmed xda so hopefully he will get back to me luckily for me doesnt live to far cos i`m useless with pc`s and software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xda
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 1199
Location: Park Gate

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teb wrote:
Hacksaw you arent the only one with this problem! i have a qteks110 which is essentially the same as the mda compact and i cannot activate com port 7. it appears to be gettin a satellite fix but the pda isnt detecting the sd card. i have pmed xda so hopefully he will get back to me luckily for me doesnt live to far cos i`m useless with pc`s and software.

There is no guarantee that your unit is using Comm 7, Mine is but GPSinfo is reluctant to show that port.
I am still running TomTom V3 and there has always been an issue with the TomTom V3 GPS driver restricting the available ports, hence my need to use TomTom V2.06 GPS driver, which doen't have that problem.
I see from you other posts that you are using TomTom V5 and I think you will find you need to set it up to use as a wired GPS NMEA 4800 from within. Programs, GPS, untick the box top left, to enable you to select the top options box.
_________________
Graham.
TT Go720, App:9.510(1234792.1) OS:842337
GPS: V1.20, Boot: 5.5279, Home: V2.9.5.3093
Map: Europe V910.4892
Map: Europe_Truck V870.3421, Kingston 8GB SD
Nokia 925 Windows 8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
corky
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 31, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:10 pm    Post subject: Mine not working well at all.... Reply with quote

Oh well i got my SD-502 yesterday morning, i had already installed 1.32 driver prior to getting it, my pda is a medion pcc250. Anyway plugged it in and after a few mins it started working, so i installed tomtom 5 to the memory card and took it for a test and it worked fine, even with lots of snow coming down.

But later on in the day when i tested it again i noticed the live map was not updating very quickly as you drive about, so if i went over a roundabout and carried on down the road it was only just mapping the roundabout ! and the signal was not too good either.

So i restarted it all again, and took the 502 out and put it in again and then i got much better signal even though i had not moved, started driving home and then the map locked up solid, i could'nt even turn the pda off !

When i got home to my suprise there was nothing on the 502 memory card, it had somehow cleared everything that i had installed !

So i formatted it and tried to start again but part way through the map install there was no memory card again ?

In the end i got it all installed again, but i'm not really sure if you plug this 502 in while the pda is on, or off. Because i get "no map found" sometimes when i go to run tomtom, but if i unplug the 502 and put it in again then it works, but i am still getting this delayed map update !

So i'm not having much luck anyway Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
17.073 (17 Jul 19)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping