Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - OS GPS Convertor v2.1 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

OS GPS Convertor v2.1 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I can't think what else might be causing this problem. I've typed your revised coords into my utility and OziCE is still showing the correct values on my map. I've tried a few other display datums, and one that gives the figures you quote is called 'Rijksdriehoeksmeting' - does that mean anything to you?
Are you using a recent version of OziCE? Only the last few versions have allowed you to select the display datum independently of the map datum. Previous versions used the datum of the map and didn't let you select another one.
Failing that, can you check the files that my utility is creating? I can't think of any reason why they would be different on your Pocket PC to mine, but it's worth checking. After showing the position in OziCE, look for a file called apidata1.$$$ in your OziExplorer folder and read it in a text editor. It should contain these two lines, the position in decimal degrees in WGS84:
Code:
+52.0454000
+4.9523000

If it does, we're both creating exactly the same position for OziCE to display.
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnteVante1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 17, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a possibility to use this program for the cordinates we use in sweden (X - Y cordinates), didn´t find any info about this on the homesite for the program.
/AnteVante
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Miata
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 16, 2005
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barryd wrote:
Hi
I can't think what else might be causing this problem. I've typed your revised coords into my utility and OziCE is still showing the correct values on my map. I've tried a few other display datums, and one that gives the figures you quote is called 'Rijksdriehoeksmeting' - does that mean anything to you?
Are you using a recent version of OziCE? Only the last few versions have allowed you to select the display datum independently of the map datum. Previous versions used the datum of the map and didn't let you select another one.
Failing that, can you check the files that my utility is creating? I can't think of any reason why they would be different on your Pocket PC to mine, but it's worth checking. After showing the position in OziCE, look for a file called apidata1.$$$ in your OziExplorer folder and read it in a text editor. It should contain these two lines, the position in decimal degrees in WGS84:
Code:
+52.0454000
+4.9523000

If it does, we're both creating exactly the same position for OziCE to display.


Hi Barry,

I think you hit the problem. "Driehoeksmeting" does mean something to me. It is the dutch way of measuring. And indeed I am using maps with "Driehoeksmeting" because that is what is also used for geochacing.
Underneath I wil put some information about this way of measuring. My questions is: Are you able to make a convertion possibility in OS GPS for "Driehoeksmeting" based on the information underneath?

I am using OziCE_Dev 1.11.6e and I have not been able to find a possibility to change the setting for the maps from "Driehoeksmeting" to WGS84. The only option I can find is in File/Configuration/NMEA (GPS) where I can select the GPS NMEA Output Datum, which is set to WGS 84.
I can put in on "Driehoeksmeting" as well, but I don't think that would be the right thing to do.

Rudy



Information on "Driehoeksmeting":

The Schreiber double projection is a variant of the Stereographic projection, in which each point in the ellipsoid is first projected in a sphere and the resulting point projected in a plane that intersects the sphere. This projection must be used with a datum based on the “Bessel 1841”
ellipsoid, usually the “Rijks Driehoeksmeting” datum. All parameters for this projection are fixed: the centre is at N52 09 22.178 E5 23 15.5 in the “Rijks Driehoeksmeting” datum (coordinates of the Amersfoot OLV church), the scale factor is 0.9999079, and the constants for the conversions between the isometric latitudes in the ellipsoid and in the sphere are n = 1.00047585668 and m = 0.003773953832.
The Netherlands grid uses the Schreiber dual projection with a false easting of 155km and a false northing of 463km, and the “Rijks Driehoeksmeting” datum. Acceptable ranges of values are: 0–290000 for x, 290000–630000 for y, 50.3–53.45 for latitude, and 3–7.45 for
longitude.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Miata wrote:

I am using OziCE_Dev 1.11.6e and I have not been able to find a possibility to change the setting for the maps from "Driehoeksmeting" to WGS84. The only option I can find is in File/Configuration/NMEA (GPS) where I can select the GPS NMEA Output Datum, which is set to WGS 84.
I can put in on "Driehoeksmeting" as well, but I don't think that would be the right thing to do.

Hi Rudy
Glad that we've worked it out. Your version should have the display datum feature. If not there are later development and production beta versions.
The point of this setting is that you don't need to change the datum used to calibrate your maps. You just use this setting to change how positions on the map are displayed in OziCE. For example, I tend to need WGS84 latitude and longitude some of the time, and OSGB British National Grid references at other times. Using this setting, I can have a map that is calibrated in either one (or something else) and display whichever of the two datums and formats I want at any given time. The only thing that needs care is to keep the datum and display format in sync, for example if I select OSGB datum but leave lat/long format, I see lat/long positions but on the wrong datum so they appear to be okay until I try to use them and find that they are all offset by over 100m.
On the menu select: File - Configuration - General Settings
Look in the Operation tab.
Set Position Format and Display Datum to the values you want.

PS Thanks for the info on Driehoeksmeting. I can't make any promises that I'll be updating my utility with it, indeed it is unlikely I'm afraid, but it is now on the "to do" list if I ever do!
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnteVante1 wrote:
Is there a possibility to use this program for the cordinates we use in sweden (X - Y cordinates), didn´t find any info about this on the homesite for the program.

Hi AnteVante
Sorry, no plans at present. I developed this utility for my own use in the UK and give it away free, and have very little time to spend on it other than keeping up with changes to TomTom etc.
Hopefully you can make use of WGS84 lat/long positions with it, as they will work worldwide.
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Getoffandwalk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 06, 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops,
I tried Miata's new format 4 numbers and Destinator showed the same co-ordinates as did OS GPS. Now I can't repeat the problem with the original numbers.
I'm sorry to have implied there may be a "funny" when there was none.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Miata
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 16, 2005
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barryd wrote:
Hi Rudy
Glad that we've worked it out. Your version should have the display datum feature. If not there are later development and production beta versions.
The point of this setting is that you don't need to change the datum used to calibrate your maps. You just use this setting to change how positions on the map are displayed in OziCE. For example, I tend to need WGS84 latitude and longitude some of the time, and OSGB British National Grid references at other times. Using this setting, I can have a map that is calibrated in either one (or something else) and display whichever of the two datums and formats I want at any given time. The only thing that needs care is to keep the datum and display format in sync, for example if I select OSGB datum but leave lat/long format, I see lat/long positions but on the wrong datum so they appear to be okay until I try to use them and find that they are all offset by over 100m.
On the menu select: File - Configuration - General Settings
Look in the Operation tab.
Set Position Format and Display Datum to the values you want.

PS Thanks for the info on Driehoeksmeting. I can't make any promises that I'll be updating my utility with it, indeed it is unlikely I'm afraid, but it is now on the "to do" list if I ever do!


Hi Barry,

I think I have found the problem. The coordinates I was using came from Ozi Explorer and from maps calibrated in "Driehoeksmeting". In OziCE my Position format was on Degrees.Minutes already, but unfortunately because of the "Driehoeksmeting" they are the Degrees and Minutes in "Driehoeksmeting" not in WGS84. In the OziCE version I am using there is no possibility to show the coordinates in WGS84. In Ozi Explorer there is and that's how I found out what the coordinates in "Driehoeksmeting" should be. Driehoeksmeting is about 100m of from WGS84.

I have now found another solution for this problem. I have downloaded the same maps in WGS84 format in stead of Driehoeksmeting. Now the Degrees and Minutes will be in WGS84 in OziCE as well.

I am still interested in the possibility for coordinates in Driehoeksmeting for OS GPS, but for now this has fixed the problem. So, take your time and if you ever have the possibility.....

Thanks for your great support and software.

I am writing an article about GPS applications and possibilities for use during mazda miata club trips and I will definitely mention your software in combination with Tomtom and Ozi.

Rudy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Miata wrote:
In the OziCE version I am using there is no possibility to show the coordinates in WGS84.

Hi
I've just checked on the OziExplorer web site and the feature I mentioned came in at version 1.11.6f of OziCE, so you could use it if you download a newer version. If you do, you'll also discover other nice new features including full screen mode so you can see more map, a log book which I find really useful for recording notes with coordinates and map screenshot when I've found a geocache, and GPS tracking with or without map centering, among others.
Best wishes
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tvaranda
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: entering coordinates... Reply with quote

Hi, Barryd!
I'm using TomTom Navigator 5.210, Map: Iberia Plus v632.
I put the coordinates of a cache (Geocaching.com) 5.1km away from my house in OS GPS Convertor v2.1.0.0, and in TomTom It shows me the POI 1444Km away.
What did I do wrong?
The coordinates are: N 41° 13.067 W 008° 38.791
I put them in format 4: WGS84 - D M.M in your app.
I don't know much about GPS, but do I have to turn on the GPS first and then enter the coordinates??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kartracer
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 26/03/2003 20:15:33
Posts: 502
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tvaranda,

Judging by the distance error, I would guess that you have inadvertantly transposed the Longitudinal position by selecting E instead of W, thereby ending up in the sea off Corsica.
_________________
Kam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Re: entering coordinates... Reply with quote

Tvaranda wrote:
I don't know much about GPS, but do I have to turn on the GPS first and then enter the coordinates??

Hi there
You can use my utility at any time, whether or not TomTom or the GPS are running. My program just writes the position into a file. TomTom then reads the position from that file and uses it. There is no direct communication between my program and the TomTom program.
Hope this helps
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tvaranda
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kartracer, thank you. You were right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterd
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 09, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: GPS GR Convertor Reply with quote

I am a very new GPS user and am using CoPilot on a Yakumo Alpha pda. I installed the OS GPS Convertor and it works well except of course it can't interface with CoPilot. However I really want to convert the other way round ie from lattitude and longitude gps co-ordinates to OS GR coordinates. This is so I can more easily use the GPS in conjunction with maps whilst cycling and walking. Is there a pocket pc program that will do the latter?

Thanks

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kartracer
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 26/03/2003 20:15:33
Posts: 502
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peterd,
I don't have a PPC with a charged battery at the moment to try it, but from memory I am pretty sure that OS GPS Convertor will do conversions the other way around if you want it to.
_________________
Kam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterd
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 09, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:35 am    Post subject: OS GPS Convertor Reply with quote

You are absolutely right Kam Embarassed I didn't see or perhaps appreciate the significance of the down arrow beside the format box. It's now (almost) just what I need. Perfection would be an automatic transfer of the coordinates from the CoPilot current position screen to the convertor, but nothing is perfect in this world, lacking as I do PPC/CoPilot programming ability, so I will happily settle for what I've got.

Many thanks

Peter

PS What does WGS84 stand for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.074 (28 Jul 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping