Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TTN5 postcode search
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TTN5 postcode search
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nnishp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 21, 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:03 am    Post subject: TTN5 postcode search Reply with quote

I dont know if any of you have this problem but whnever i want to find a postcode it always takes me to a road nearby not the actual road. Example, i was putting in my home location so i decided to find it by postcode, i put it in and it came up with a road round the corner not mine. Does any one know whats going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
julianbarker
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 12, 2005
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have your own unique postcode? Unless you live in something like Buckingham Palace, you will share your post code with a group of properties.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soweezy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jan 31, 2005
Posts: 324
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

our street has 290 house numbers (not that many houses though) and 4 post codes
my postcode is specific to a group of houses on this street

anyhow, TTN5 postcode lookup is pants, it seems to work similar to TTN3... LLNN N then select the town, I was under the impression it was going to be LLNN NLL ?
_________________
SW

Garmin Zumo 390LM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Houdini
Banned


Joined: Dec 12, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
anyhow, TTN5 postcode lookup is pants, it seems to work similar to TTN3... LLNN N then select the town, I was under the impression it was going to be LLNN NLL ?


Errrr.... your using the wrong screen !

tap main screen... 1st icon navigate to.. right arrow... postcode :D

Happier now ?

Best Wishes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lorax
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2005
Posts: 46
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem with the postcode addon (now no longer available) for ttn3. The first (and only, so far) time I used it, it took me to a street that was parallel to the one i wanted. A completely different street!!
I almost knocked on the wrong door before I noticed.

I don't think you share a full postcode with different streets. That would make the use of postcodes pointless!! Maybe one street name has a postcode and then you just look for the house number (which the postcode addon doesn't seen to let you input).

So why are we being directed to the wrong street?

Lorax
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soweezy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jan 31, 2005
Posts: 324
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, navigate by address or postcode gives the same options LLNN N (town)
map version 562 TTN 5.0
_________________
SW

Garmin Zumo 390LM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blurredout
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 26, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the "zip" directory on your SD card, do you have the Great_Britain.Postal file? If not then TTN5 will default to the old TTN3 system of postcode lookup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soweezy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jan 31, 2005
Posts: 324
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's in the ZIP folder now, I'd put it in the map folder... Rolling Eyes
_________________
SW

Garmin Zumo 390LM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proeliator2001
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 24/03/2003 18:35:49
Posts: 20
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've installed TTN5 and used the CD to put the postcode bit on (and its in the zip folder) and still its using 3 digit lookup which is fecking useless. Anyone got any ideas why TTN5 isn't seeing the file?

ITs running on a 3970 and was upgraded from TTN2 btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joni
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 03, 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here upgrading from 3 on a 2210. What's worse is that the original ukpostcode search doesn't work any more either... Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the zip folder on the ppc or the sd if it on the storage card the zip file should be visible on the first veiw allong woith the 2577 folder and the map file
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
joni
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 03, 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alix776 wrote:
is the zip folder on the ppc or the sd if it on the storage card the zip file should be visible on the first veiw allong woith the 2577 folder and the map file


The zip file is on the SD card next to the map file...I don't know what a 2577 folder is Embarassed but whatever it is it isn't there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlak
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2003
Posts: 78
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try putting the "zip" folder at the root level of your PocketPC (instead of the SD card). That's how I got it working with full postcode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TuurG
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 23, 2004
Posts: 454
Location: Haarlem, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of using your pocketpc's memory, leave the ZIP folder on your SD card.
But add a folder TOMTOM to the SD card.
Why this would help? The app searches for a TomTom folder, and then searches for all other folders (VOICE, SCHEME, ZIP,...) alongside of this folder. That's why it works with the postalcodes file stored on the PocketPC; you have a TomTom folder with the activation code and settings on your device, in the root and/or in MyDocuments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlak
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2003
Posts: 78
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TuurG,
You beat me to it!
That was my next option. I thought it was ridiculous to use the PPC's memory for the file so also tried the exact same thing you suggested above and was just about to post it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping