Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tom Tom or Windows Problem??
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tom Tom or Windows Problem??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
johnmar
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Tom Tom or Windows Problem?? Reply with quote

I am relatively new to pocket PC's and GPS and am now experiencing some problems which I would hope to resolve.

I have an iPAQ 3830 with an EMTAC GPS Jacket which has a 256MB CF card on board. The iPAQ has a 128MB SD card on board.

I am running TTNav2.02 as well as TTGPS2.02. The program file are stored in RAM and the GB map is on the CF card. There are no other programs stored in RAM.

The EMTAC aquires fixes quickly and seems to operate well.

The system calculates routes fron Navigator quite well, apart from glitches when The car is not parked on a specified road, or there is no firm fix due to prevailing conditions. Also the system re-routes well and the Avoid feature is OK.

I have had two irritating problems reocurring.

1. Whilst travelling with a good fix (say 6-7 sats), the screen will lock for no apparent reason. Exiting the application (possible without a soft reset) via a programmed button and restarting will give an instant sat fix and the system is back on track. However, very easy to miss a road turn-off.

2. The Safety Screen was working well at one point, but now just terminates the application when the set speed is reached. This only happens when speed-switched, not in Hide Map mode.