Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Fustrated with contacts/TTN2
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Fustrated with contacts/TTN2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iancjc
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 10/02/2003 14:19:44
Posts: 749
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

Is anyone else having little joy with the contacts to nav 2 link?



4 addresses I've tried give me the wrong address, town, postcode etc.



Example in outlook contacts I have the following address



xxx Queens Close

Harston

Cambridge

CB2 XXX



When selecting navigate to it offers me:



Are you sure you want to navigate to Quainton Close CB5.................. TO WHICH THERE IS NO OPTION TO TYPE NO I F*%^ING WELL DO NOT.



Changing the entry in contacts to read City HARSTON and county Cambridgeshire (which is how you find it typing the location direct into TTN2) produces....



Are you sure you want to navigate to Collingwood Close LE13, Harston (Melton) ...........ARRRRHHHHHH!





The first address I tried worked perfectly the next 4 produce crap results like this. To get it to work



Note : this is with the address and postcode entered absolutley correctly in the contacts file.



Not at all sure about this update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheGoodMan
Regular Visitor


Joined: 12/02/2003 20:01:02
Posts: 74
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry for the trouble you have been having. I have also tried TomTom 2 and it has got many errors.



If you would like to have a proper post code search try to upgrade to Copilot 3.5 (CoPilot 4 is going to be release soon). Unlike TomTom 2 which has crap search system you can end up in the wrong area CoPilot will allow you to search the address by post code. You need to type in first 4 letter of the post code and the first line of the address including the house number and the CoPilot will work out the route for you. Compare to TomTom 2 maps are also up to date.



Another product worth considering is Destinator which is also significantly better than TomTom 2.



The Goodman

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23847
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

Goodman's anti-TomTom stance is well known by the regulars, take his opinions with a pinch of salt. They're not based on real world experience as you will discover if you spend time with us. Neither of the alternatives he suggests are anywhere near as popular as TomTom Navigator with good reason. TTNav has it's fault s and you'll see us shouting about them as much as anyone else but it's the best of the bunch.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
musicreative
Regular Visitor


Joined: 15/01/2003 16:48:43
Posts: 100
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

OK, let's examine this postcode question... What is the postcode search on CoPilot giving you? It will pick up the city only - it doesn't give you the street, so it's not that useful IMHO. Sure, it saves a few characters typing.



TTN2 now knows the house numbers - that's the most important thing for me. I would tend to agree with Duncan about the routing strengths. No one package does it all (sadly), but at least being a PocketPC application we have the possibility of changing our GPS application quite easily.



Co-Pilot suffers a few technical problems - the speech cracking - problems with iPAQ 5450 - problems driving on the right(!) in Europe - being locked to Travroute hardware. In spite of these negatives, it's still a great product - as is TomTom.



As ever, you choose the product that suits your needs best. It's getting a little like the days of 'my Apple is better than your PC'! Laughing Out Loud



Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeB
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 20/08/2002 11:51:57
Posts: 3858
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

Ian,



Despite what our friend TheGoodMan says, I have had trouble with the co-pilot address interface as well. Basically I found that it was able to locate half of my addresses that I tried. There are many reasons for this ranging from partial/bad addresses to incorrect data on the mapping data. I know of one road with only 20 houses but when you put in the postcode it reckons you want 50-50 my road.



Interestingly the best implementation of postcode/zip data that I know of is ironicaly PocketStreets, lacking in many other areas, but stron in this.
_________________
Mike Barrett
Editor, PocketGPSWorld.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iancjc
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 10/02/2003 14:19:44
Posts: 749
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Fustrated with contacts/TTN2 Reply with quote

Mike



I realise that Thegoodman has his views and overall I'm pretty happy with tomtom (and won't be jumping product) - but I really think that this part of TTN2 is very weak. For day to day use I think TTN1 satisfied approx 80% of my requirments, that said, I think because of the limitations I've discovered so far I think TTN2 will also only satisfy 80% of my requirments. The address thing is compensated for by the on screen keyboard - so win some lose some I guess.



Also how likely is it that The goodman has used TTN2 as I guess I was one of the few lucky ones to receive it yesterday.



The clincher for TT over other solutions is its ability to run well on an ipaq 3850 with my much maligned pretec lp card!



Cheers



Ian

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
18.104 (28 Oct 20)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping