Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Need full 7 digit postcode and fully portable unit
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Need full 7 digit postcode and fully portable unit
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Luminous
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:33 pm    Post subject: Need full 7 digit postcode and fully portable unit Reply with quote

Hi

I am a total newbie trying to help out my dad. He wants a satnav device that is totally portable, ie we need to be able to use it on foot in a town centre, and to be able to use it in different vehicles (works van, car etc).

We MUST be able to search using all digits in the postcode.

We finally managed to get a demonstration of some units in a shop and the 5 digits alone will not do.

Cost is not really an issue, usability is. It needs to be simple and reliable. Once it is setup it needs to just work. I will be the one doing the setup, and can cope with just about all sorts of software installation and hacking with sufficient instructions.

What thoughts do ppl have? I have read lots of things here, but is the Tom Tom Go the only option.?

GPS speed trap detection would be nice, again we do not mind paying for this if this will get us a more accurate and up to date database of traps.

Thanks for any suggestions you have
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote