Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - navman se not working - help required please
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

navman se not working - help required please
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: navman se not working - help required please Reply with quote

hi,
i'm new to gps so replies need to be as idiot proof as possible!
i have an ipaq 3970 loaded with tomtom 3.1 & 3.3 upgrade.
i have downloaded the rom upgrade 2.3.7 to the ipaq, but 'gps receiver not attached' is displayed(navman connected).
when the sleeve is connected 'unrecognised card' is displayed.
if i check the expansionpack folder the card is listed as 'navman gps with cf2'.........whats happening???
is it normal for a couple of the navman connector pins to be at a different level to the others?
i have tried to install the navman driver 3.1.6 & gps info 1.3 via active sync (with navman se off ipaq) and get ' does not support the connected device type'
asset viewer on the ipaq lists rom revision; 4.00.08eng. windows ce 4.20

i'm desperate to get this working for the wife by the weekend - quick fix required or i'm in trouble! Sad

thanks to all who reply!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried the tomtom gps 2.07 driver - still no go. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's been a long long (very long) time since I've installed drivers onto a Navman sleeve, but what I would suggest is you

1) uninstall TomTom ~ GPS and TomTom GPS in Remove Programs.
2) Soft Reset
3) Download Serial 3.1.6 driver (from this link as we know this version works.
4) Summon the rain god (whoops, wrong post-but can't help trying!)
5) Install Serial 3.1.6 driver
6) Check SE Software is working
7) Re-install TomTom GPS and see if it breaks at this point.

At 5, I can't remember whether the sleeve needs to be on or off the iPAQ. I have a hunch that it needs to be on, but I'd suggest performing a soft reset when you get to point 5 just in case. If it doesn't work with it on, try it with it off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And just to be sure, you do have the Navman Jacket and not the CoPilot or Ipaq Navigation System Jacket which are identical externally but need a different driver.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the sleeve says 'navman se' in white on the front.
'navman' on the back.
model: ipaq v2
02180100
gps sensor designed & manufactured for Hp ipaq pocket pc by navman NZ ltd.
came in a navman gps 3300 kit.

so what have i got ?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the Navman Version and NOT the CoPilot or iNS version. It's worth checking as they use different drivers and can't be mixed.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi dave,
when i get to instruction no.5 and try to install driver 3.1.6(sleeve on or off) with active sync, i get '3.1.6 does not suport the connected device type'

Help Confused Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

am i right in saying that the 3.1.6 is only an upgrade part driver, so how will it upgrade something that is not there (or am i being stupid) Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you trying to install the driver? It needs to be installed whilst connected via ActiveSync, launch the installer on the PC.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

installing the driver with active sync on the pc
'3.1.6 does not support the connected device type'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd, try downloading the driver direct from Navman here. This works on mine.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried that darren - not supported message.
i read the instructions :-
1. Remove the iPAQ from the Navman sleeve and soft reset the iPAQ.

2. Install Smart ST Pro Europe from the original CD's if not already installed. (Very Important)

3: Activate Smart ST Pro using the European Product Key (SSP-191-...)

4: Soft reset the iPAQ.

5: Install the file: SerialDriver_3_1_6.exe.

6: Run Smart ST Pro Europe.


i haven't got the SST software though and it does say very important.
does the SST contain the driver that gets updated by the 3.1.6 ?

how long does it take for any first response of the gps to know if it works?

tried the sp view program and got not connected - unable to open port com 1 .last error 55.
but then i have no idea what i am doing with the program.

this thing is going to get launched into orbit soon Exclamation

GPS - mine means Great Pile of Stress ...... or ?

please make any reply idiot proof as i may be doing something wrong Question

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amcluesent
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2004
Posts: 134
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>asset viewer on the ipaq lists rom revision; 4.00.08eng. windows ce 4.20<

Your 3970 is unusual then, having been upgraded to Windows Mobile 2003. That maybe why the s/w install is confused as the Navman site only mentions Pocket PC 2002 as being supported by the serial driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hampshire uk

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amcluesent......good point, it was like that when i aquired it from previous owner

whats the difference between 2002 and 2003 (no comments of 1, thanks Exclamation )

anyone any ideas if this is a problem and how to get round it?
do i try navman help site?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would contact Navman, you may find that you have to downgrade the OS to PPC2002 as there is quite a difference between PPC2002 and Windows Mobile 2003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping