Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom2 and Bluetooth GPS - Automatic connection
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom2 and Bluetooth GPS - Automatic connection
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nicke20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 16, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks wilko for the link
great piece of software, and nice to be able to swith the auto connect on and off with a screen tap. i didnt fancy a reg tweek using an editor after the comments of the ipaq locking on to a closer bt device Confused

cheers

Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kwr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 03, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

help please!!!

i downloaded bluetooth tweaker 1.4 for ipaq 2210, i set automatic(background) and and chooce ipaq 2210 but when i hit apply, i got an error said, widcomm registry key not found!

what happend? i have ipaq 2210 with rom version 1.10, do i have to use this bluetooth tweaker in order to make gps bluetooth work?

your help greatly appreciated, thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selwonk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kwr wrote:
help please!!!

i downloaded bluetooth tweaker 1.4 for ipaq 2210, i set automatic(background) and and chooce ipaq 2210 but when i hit apply, i got an error said, widcomm registry key not found!

what happend? i have ipaq 2210 with rom version 1.10, do i have to use this bluetooth tweaker in order to make gps bluetooth work?

your help greatly appreciated, thank you very much.
I've got exactly the same problem on my iPAQ 1940. However, I've used this thread before to fix this particular problem. My iPAQ battery died and the backup/restore in ActiveSynce failed. I've just reloaded the TomTom software and try to fix the registry by hand. The Autoconnect entry is simply not in the registry? I've download the latest Bluetooth driver from the HP website but to no avail

Also weird is that when I exit TomTom the Bluetooth light is flashing but the Bluetooth manager thinks it is turned off?
_________________
MK

Mike Knowles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
selwonk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a quick update to this one. I've been unable to resolve the missing Widcomm registry entries. I've even tried installing the 1.00 ROM for the iPaq 1940 but this has not helped

MK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sean16
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem with my 1940, to get around this I set the bt reg tweak to 2210 and for some reason it works :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selwonk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately it does not work on mine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fucawi
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 02/05/2003 13:22:34
Posts: 32
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
Here's something you should try (credits to pocketnavigation.de). You need a registry editor for this.

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Widcomm\BtConfig\Autoconnect\000x
(000x is 0008 for com8 )
add an entry (DWORD)

BtBrowserEnabled=0
this should stop the BT browser from popping up, and the last connected device will be reconnected


Lutz

I am using Resco Registry and followed the HKEY path you suggested, but once in 0008, I lost where I am supposed to add the DWORD entry. If I make this registry change then will it cause problems with the partnering with the BT phone that i use for TTN Traffic and email/internet etc.

Please could you help with this.

Regards
_________________
Where the Fucawi??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you have navigated to the 0008 area you simply say File > New > Dword value, name it BtBrowserEnabled and give it the value 0.

It will not interfere with other BT services, it's purely for the outgoing serial port service
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Fucawi
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 02/05/2003 13:22:34
Posts: 32
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Lutz, it has worked a treat. No more irritating BT searches.. :D
_________________
Where the Fucawi??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcgrelio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 18, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i've done the registry editing and now TT autoconnect. It's great.

However the really great thing would be to have TT autoactivate BT when started.
Someone did the same question and it is still unanswered Sad
It would be great what the BT manual activation do and then putting it into a sort of .bat file wich execute this script and then launch TT.
There's is a small utility called minibt (shareware http://www.pocketgear.com/software_detail.asp?id=16666) but it hangs on my HP4150.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TTN5 does exactly that (switching BT on if you haven't done it before), and guess what - I don't like it. Because when BT was already switched on before you started TTN5 it will be switched off when you exit TTN5. 8O

My PDA is controlled by ME, not by TomTom! Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mcgrelio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 18, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
TTN5 does exactly that (switching BT on if you haven't done it before), and guess what - I don't like it. Because when BT was already switched on before you started TTN5 it will be switched off when you exit TTN5. 8O

My PDA is controlled by ME, not by TomTom! Evil or Very Mad

Wow! So i have to buy TomTom5 to have automatic B switching Sad

TT5 switching automatically the BT is fantastic because it reduces user interaction and does what the user should.
However you're right if you want to keep the control of your ppc.
TT5 should simply check if BT is activated or not: if it is, it should not close the BT connection after TT5 is colsed.
This would be a good behaviour, isn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcgrelio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 18, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've checked TT site and seen "Avaiable soon" under TT5 Navigator (for PocketPC).
Is it already avaiable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quantum
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 16/02/2003 03:21:58
Posts: 285
Location: Seattle, Ecotopia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
Because when BT was already switched on before you started TTN5 it will be switched off when you exit TTN5. 8O

Man, what a basic error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping