Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Brixly - Fast, Reliable, Secure UK Web Hosting
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - World Base Map Upgrade
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

World Base Map Upgrade
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 1:28 pm    Post subject: World Base Map Upgrade Reply with quote

Hi

Has anyone upgraded to the world base map? Basically is it any good? Is it worth the upgrade, money and bother?

Do you get anything other than really basic detail?

Thanks

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Not_lost_yet
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 26, 2009
Posts: 16
Location: Nottingham UK

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not yet, like you I'm waiting to see what others think of it first.

Apart from that I,ve spent enough in the last three weeks what with the Satmap and several SD map cards and power charger and battery etc, replacement covers, scratch remover 75 for the annual route planner membership also.

My bank balance is looking very depleted and its nothing to do with Gordon Brown - its all my own fault!
_________________
I can cope with fantasy, It's reality that has me beat.
SatMap Active10, Anquet Maps V06,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm

167 views and just the 1 reply from Not-lost-yet with the same problem as me. Does this mean that noone has had the upgrade or noone has replied.

I'll try another question: Has anyone had the upgrade?

Thanks

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No advice - just a caution, in case it's relevant to you. Someone has pointed out that the street-name map is removed if this is installed, due to space restrictions on the unit.
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ocam
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 08, 2007
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno99 wrote:
Hm

167 views and just the 1 reply from Not-lost-yet with the same problem as me. Does this mean that noone has had the upgrade or noone has replied.

I'll try another question: Has anyone had the upgrade?

Thanks

John

I haven't got it but am going to. I've seen it and played with it briefly which was enough to convince me I've got to have it. Most impressive. I went to Everest and had a look at the main roads there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidor
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2008
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Someone has pointed out that the street-name map is removed if this is installed, due to space restrictions on the unit.


That could be a serious disadvantage. Can you get the street map back again or swap between the two?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a practical point of view, I think the answer must be No. Satmap's website says
Quote:
As this is a major upgrade, your Active 10 unit will have to be sent back to Satmap Systems Ltd. We strongly advise you to send it via Royal Mail Special Delivery service so that the product is insured and can be tracked. Once upgraded, we will return it via Royal Mail Recorded Delivery, for which there is an additional 5.00 postage charge.

IMPORTANT NOTE: due to the constraints on memory, installing the World Base Map requires the removal of the vector road map on the Active 10. The 1:250k road map and 1:1m Full GB map will remain.


(The vector road map is the detailed streetmap, from what someone on these forums said)
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Well, seems like no one has actually got the upgrade but we are all thinking about it! Judging by what ocam states it appears pretty good. I'm not bothered about street names etc, I bought the active 10 to use off road, I've got a perfectly good sat nav for road use.

I'm going to Croatia (hopefully, I haven't actually booked it yet!) end of June so I think I will send mine off in the next couple of weeks and get the upgrade and I will let you know what I think.

I used it on Fuertaventura in February but all you get without the upgrade is a blue screen so I suppose anything will be better than that.

Thanks

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
decay
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 23, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got my satmap back after the base map upgrade, Very happy

There appears to be about 4 transitions as you go from min to max zoom
The best detail you get is still pretty vague but at least you will know what country you are in. Will be very helpful if you are able to plan routes using lon/lat references or do on the PC before you go abroad.

Also during the install satmap took it upon themselves to do a little tinkering, service report reads:

Software upgrade
Gorunding Plate Remodification (what ever that is? should it be grounding)
World base map upgrade
Retuned antenna
Tested to required standards


On switching on it did seem to pick up a signal mighty quick....

If you are reading this satmap, thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Decay

Got around to sending off my active 10 yesterday to Satmap. They phoned me on my mobile today to say they had received it and were working on ita and would return it to me today! Excellent service as usual.

I had already returned mine for the grounding plate mod and retuning, free of charge and they replaced the screen FOC. It has made lock on a lot quicker. I am going to Croatia in 3 weeks time, I'll see how the world base map works and report back.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
decay
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 23, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno, when you get yours back try the goto postcode function Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HJC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2007
Posts: 33
Location: Hill Top Bucks UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone got a screen shot or other image of what the world map looks like at various zoom levelsjavascript:emoticon('Question')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
decay
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 23, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Going from maximum detail, as you can see major details only, no villages or minor roads.





To maximum zoom out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HJC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2007
Posts: 33
Location: Hill Top Bucks UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for putting that together, a great effort much appreciated.
As you say fairly simple but I believe well worth it. Now alll I have to do is find that jiffy bag and give satmap a ring, just in case they have sorted out Macsync as well!
('Wink')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Well got the active 10 back Ok on Saturday. They included a new screen FOC which is good. Haven't had chance to have a good look but first thoughts are that it is exactly as I thought, not brilliant detail but good enough. Brilliant screen shots, thanks decay.

Decay, you mentioned 'goto postcodes' had a quick look through and couldn't find anywhere with the reference to postcodes.

Looking forward to trying it out on the flight to Croatia and while there for 2 weeks.

Thanks

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.063 (19 Jun 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping