Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark VPN
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Speed Cam readout on Mio3.2
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Speed Cam readout on Mio3.2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:20 am    Post subject: Speed Cam readout on Mio3.2 Reply with quote

I have solved the problem of the speed camera limit and average speed (in SPECS zones) being in Km/H not MPH. The fix involves editing the patch.ui file in data.zip so is not for a newbee. If anyone is interested in my solution, I will post the mods to patch.ui here.
Trevor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teece
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 18/05/2003 19:05:53
Posts: 33
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Speed Cam readout on Mio3.2 Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
I have solved the problem of the speed camera limit and average speed (in SPECS zones) being in Km/H not MPH. The fix involves editing the patch.ui file in data.zip so is not for a newbee. If anyone is interested in my solution, I will post the mods to patch.ui here.
Trevor


Yes please Trevor, this is a fundamental problem with miomap which they seem very reluctant to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tece
Instructions to follow.
I have contacted Mio several times. I am certain that they do not understand the problem. I sent them quite a detailed email, and they told me how to change the basic units from metric to Imperial. Like I didn't already know. My second brought the response, download the latest. It aint fixed in that either, but I did loose my TMC so back to the Sept 06 version and my mods.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herewith my fix for the MPH speed camera readout.
I have intercepted the value of speedlimit (vspeedlimit) if the Mio is in Imperial, and converted the value from km/h to MPH in a lookup table before display. The anomaly of the speed limit already being in MPH within a SPECS zone sorts itself out OK because the speed passed to the lookup will be 30, 40 etc. which are not in the conversion table so will not be converted. Similarly I have done the same thing for the average speed (vAvgSpeed) for the SPECS zone. All readouts are in MPH. If your Mio is set to Km/m then no conversion is done, as the speed readout should be OK. :D

You need to make the changes, shown below in bold to the data.zip\ui_mio\Patch.ui file (except the first two remmed out lines of script sc_show_speedlimit). Replace the ~ with open or close triangular brackets as required.


~script sc_show_speedlimit~
;The runifnot statement runs the conversion if Mio is set to Miles
;bUnitType : Kilometers/meters=1 Miles/yards=0 Miles/feet=2

txt_limit_text.show
txt_speed_limit.show
spr_speedwarn_bg.show
runifnot bUnitType 1 'run sc_Convert_To_MPH vspeedlimit'
txt_speed_limit.text vspeedlimit
~/script~

~script sc_Convert_To_MPH~
runif $1 48 'vspeedlimit.set 30'
else_runif $1 64 'vspeedlimit.set 40'
else_runif $1 80 'vspeedlimit.set 50'
else_runif $1 96 'vspeedlimit.set 60'
else_runif $1 112 'vspeedlimit.set 70'
~/script~


~script sc_show_avgspeed~
txt_dist_avgpseed_text.text "Av Spd:"
runifnot bUnitType 1 'run sc_Convert_Av_To_MPH vAvgSpeed'
txt_dist_avgpseed.text vAvgSpeed
~/script~

~script sc_Convert_Av_To_MPH~
runif $1 10 'vAvgSpeed.set 6'
else_runif $1 11 'vAvgSpeed.set 7'
else_runif $1 12 'vAvgSpeed.set 8'
else_runif $1 13 'vAvgSpeed.set 8'
else_runif $1 14 'vAvgSpeed.set 9'
else_runif $1 15 'vAvgSpeed.set 9'
else_runif $1 16 'vAvgSpeed.set 10'
else_runif $1 17 'vAvgSpeed.set 11'
else_runif $1 18 'vAvgSpeed.set 11'
else_runif $1 19 'vAvgSpeed.set 12'
else_runif $1 20 'vAvgSpeed.set 13'
else_runif $1 21 'vAvgSpeed.set 13'
else_runif $1 22 'vAvgSpeed.set 14'
else_runif $1 23 'vAvgSpeed.set 14'
else_runif $1 24 'vAvgSpeed.set 15'
else_runif $1 25 'vAvgSpeed.set 16'
else_runif $1 26 'vAvgSpeed.set 16'
else_runif $1 27 'vAvgSpeed.set 17'
else_runif $1 28 'vAvgSpeed.set 18'
else_runif $1 29 'vAvgSpeed.set 18'
else_runif $1 30 'vAvgSpeed.set 19'
else_runif $1 31 'vAvgSpeed.set 19'
else_runif $1 32 'vAvgSpeed.set 20'
else_runif $1 33 'vAvgSpeed.set 21'
else_runif $1 34 'vAvgSpeed.set 21'
else_runif $1 35 'vAvgSpeed.set 22'
else_runif $1 36 'vAvgSpeed.set 23'
else_runif $1 37 'vAvgSpeed.set 23'
else_runif $1 38 'vAvgSpeed.set 24'
else_runif $1 39 'vAvgSpeed.set 24'
else_runif $1 40 'vAvgSpeed.set 25'
else_runif $1 41 'vAvgSpeed.set 26'
else_runif $1 42 'vAvgSpeed.set 26'
else_runif $1 43 'vAvgSpeed.set 27'
else_runif $1 44 'vAvgSpeed.set 28'
else_runif $1 45 'vAvgSpeed.set 28'
else_runif $1 46 'vAvgSpeed.set 29'
else_runif $1 47 'vAvgSpeed.set 29'
else_runif $1 48 'vAvgSpeed.set 30'
else_runif $1 49 'vAvgSpeed.set 31'
else_runif $1 50 'vAvgSpeed.set 31'
else_runif $1 51 'vAvgSpeed.set 32'
else_runif $1 52 'vAvgSpeed.set 33'
else_runif $1 53 'vAvgSpeed.set 33'
else_runif $1 54 'vAvgSpeed.set 34'
else_runif $1 55 'vAvgSpeed.set 34'
else_runif $1 56 'vAvgSpeed.set 35'
else_runif $1 57 'vAvgSpeed.set 36'
else_runif $1 58 'vAvgSpeed.set 36'
else_runif $1 59 'vAvgSpeed.set 37'
else_runif $1 60 'vAvgSpeed.set 38'
else_runif $1 61 'vAvgSpeed.set 38'
else_runif $1 62 'vAvgSpeed.set 39'
else_runif $1 63 'vAvgSpeed.set 39'
else_runif $1 64 'vAvgSpeed.set 40'
else_runif $1 65 'vAvgSpeed.set 41'
else_runif $1 66 'vAvgSpeed.set 41'
else_runif $1 67 'vAvgSpeed.set 42'
else_runif $1 68 'vAvgSpeed.set 43'
else_runif $1 69 'vAvgSpeed.set 43'
else_runif $1 70 'vAvgSpeed.set 44'
else_runif $1 71 'vAvgSpeed.set 44'
else_runif $1 72 'vAvgSpeed.set 45'
else_runif $1 73 'vAvgSpeed.set 46'
else_runif $1 74 'vAvgSpeed.set 46'
else_runif $1 75 'vAvgSpeed.set 47'
else_runif $1 76 'vAvgSpeed.set 48'
else_runif $1 77 'vAvgSpeed.set 48'
else_runif $1 78 'vAvgSpeed.set 49'
else_runif $1 79 'vAvgSpeed.set 49'
else_runif $1 80 'vAvgSpeed.set 50'
else_runif $1 81 'vAvgSpeed.set 51'
else_runif $1 82 'vAvgSpeed.set 51'
else_runif $1 83 'vAvgSpeed.set 52'
else_runif $1 84 'vAvgSpeed.set 53'
else_runif $1 85 'vAvgSpeed.set 53'
~/script~


You may also change the size of the text on the graphic so that you can more easily read it now that the readings are more relevant. 8O
Again in patch.ui change the positioning and font size of the readout as below.

~layer ui_warning_layer~
~sprite spr_speedwarn_bg x=78 y=53 bmp="speed_bg.bmp" ~
~sprite sp_camera_type x=80 y=118 bmp="speed_cams.spr" onrelease='speedwarn_end_section'~
~text txt_limit_text text="Limit:" x=80 y=48 w=50 h=20 align="LEFT" fontsize=12 fonttype=buttonlabel_menu~
~sprite spr_speedwarn_bg1 x=78 y=84 bmp="speed_bg.bmp" ~
~text txt_speed_limit x=80 y=58 w=50 h=20 align="RIGHT" fontsize=24fonttype=buttonlabel_menu font="tahomabd"~
~text txt_dist_avgpseed_text text="Distance:" x=80 y=78 w=50 h=20 align="LEFT" fontsize=12 fonttype=buttonlabel_menu ~
~text txt_dist_avgpseed x=80 y=88 w=50 h=20 align="RIGHT" fontsize=24 fonttype=buttonlabel_menu font="tahomabd"~
~/layer~

I am still working on the single alert telling you what type of camera you are approaching. It works sort of OK if the voice and cam alert volumes are set fairly high, but am having a problem with resetting the master volume back to how it was. It tends to stay at the same volume setting as I set it for the alert. Perhaps I'm trying to be a bit too clever. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teece
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 18/05/2003 19:05:53
Posts: 33
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent Trevor, your a star Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MazzaD
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 08, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:10 pm    Post subject: Saving the file Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Tece
Instructions to follow.
I have contacted Mio several times. I am certain that they do not understand the problem. I sent them quite a detailed email, and they told me how to change the basic units from metric to Imperial. Like I didn't already know. My second brought the response, download the latest. It aint fixed in that either, but I did loose my TMC so back to the Sept 06 version and my mods.


I have updated the file as per your instructions, however cannot seem to get it to save - the folder stops responding and i have to close it down. Can you help please because seeing speeds in kph is annoying.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MazzaD
PM Me with your email and I'll see what I can do to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeeJay01
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 139
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 10:23 am    Post subject: Re: Speed Cam readout on Mio3.2 Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
I have solved the problem of the speed camera limit and average speed (in SPECS zones) being in Km/H not MPH. The fix involves editing the patch.ui file in data.zip so is not for a newbee. If anyone is interested in my solution, I will post the mods to patch.ui here.
Trevor


Hi Trevor,
You have probably sent this already but can you send it again. Also does it show normal speed cams in MPH.
You should have my email address already (@bt.com)
_________________
Regards
Dave J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.053 (15 May 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping