Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - V9 Maps
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

V9 Maps
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Camper63
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also notice that althought the file size has changed for the IMG file the date and time stamps are exactly the same and have not changed to todays date.

Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XL_Iain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:04 am    Post subject: Nuvi 300 aand V9 Maps Reply with quote

I recently purchased a Nuvi 300 and received my V9 map update CD yesterday. I loaded it onto my PC and got the unlock code, which unlocked the whole of Europe. I'm a bit confused as the unit came pre installed with England and Ireland. Does this mean that I can load maps for France onto an SD card and the unit will navigate in France without me purchasing any more maps?

Thanks Iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

el wrote:
But I bought the unit with the intention of using it in Ireland, yet when I got there realised the maps were very bare Sad (it says UK/Ireland maps on the box)…therefore this update would give me the maps I need (and originally promised).

Is there a way around this or am I totally off track.
There is no way round it. Garmin never advertised the v8 maps as having complete coverage of Ireland. However, the only person who could possibly help you out in your position is Garmin, and you will have to contact them directly yourself and see if they are willing to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rustyjames wrote:
My i3 came with internal mapping. If I don't have a card in I get the error message. I had a spare micro-sd card so tried that and can put the update successfully on it via the unit. The i3 then lists both the v8 and v9 maps and I can turn the internal ones off. It works - just a bit frustrating not being able to update the internal one.
Can I suggest you ask Garmin, providing them all that information (and more) and see if they have a method that will work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
snowboardcriminal
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2006
Posts: 55
Location: East Bristol

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Nuvi 300 aand V9 Maps Reply with quote

XL_Iain wrote:
I recently purchased a Nuvi 300 and received my V9 map update CD yesterday. I loaded it onto my PC and got the unlock code, which unlocked the whole of Europe. I'm a bit confused as the unit came pre installed with England and Ireland. Does this mean that I can load maps for France onto an SD card and the unit will navigate in France without me purchasing any more maps?

Thanks Iain


Yes, you now have acess to the whole of Europe!! :D
_________________
Don't eat yellow snow
i3, on the middle of the dash, works just fine!

There are things that I know and you don't know, there are things that you know that i don't know, but always remember there is much that we both don't know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rustyjames
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 03, 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swing wrote:
Can I suggest you ask Garmin, providing them all that information (and more) and see if they have a method that will work?


I filled in a support request on their website a few weeks back. Got nothing back so filled in a new one yesterday in case the email address was wrong. Will wait and see and report back. Was just interested if anyone else had managed to update their internal maps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XL_Iain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Nuvi 300 aand V9 Maps Reply with quote

snowboardcriminal wrote:
XL_Iain wrote:
I recently purchased a Nuvi 300 and received my V9 map update CD yesterday. I loaded it onto my PC and got the unlock code, which unlocked the whole of Europe. I'm a bit confused as the unit came pre installed with England and Ireland. Does this mean that I can load maps for France onto an SD card and the unit will navigate in France without me purchasing any more maps?

Thanks Iain


Yes, you now have acess to the whole of Europe!! :D


That's really cool, will the nuvi automatically pick up the maps on the SD card without me having to do anything to the pre-loaded maps on the unit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes - use MapSource to load the extra European maps onto the SD card, and they will appear automatically without any further work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Camper63
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am very happy with my V9 upgrade.

I have been excitedly working out the route to Germany for my summer holiday. Only 7 months to go !!

However it insists that I get across the Channel by the Tunnel. Not a big problem as I am going by ferry and I know the way there, but an annoying one.

Anyone know how to force the maps to use the ferry rarther than the train.

Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Camper63
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Camper63 wrote:
I am very happy with my V9 upgrade.

I have been excitedly working out the route to Germany for my summer holiday. Only 7 months to go !!

However it insists that I get across the Channel by the Tunnel. Not a big problem as I am going by ferry and I know the way there, but an annoying one.

Anyone know how to force the maps to use the ferry rarther than the train.

Derek


Ok answered my own question. Just need to put a via point in the middle of the ferry route you want to use.

Only problem now is that it wants to use the A2 rather than the M20 to Dover. Very odd.

Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XL_Iain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swing wrote:
Yes - use MapSource to load the extra European maps onto the SD card, and they will appear automatically without any further work.


Any idea what size sd card the Nuvi can take?

Thanks .... Iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paddywack
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2006
Posts: 57
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Any idea what size sd card the Nuvi can take?

A standard SD card works best - it is approx 32 x 24mm. You need an adaptor if you use the mini sd card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XL_Iain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paddywack wrote:
Quote:
Any idea what size sd card the Nuvi can take?

A standard SD card works best - it is approx 32 x 24mm. You need an adaptor if you use the mini sd card.


what is the best capacity card to buy do you think, I probably only need to put all the French maps onto it.... will the nuvi support a 1gb card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marksnsparks
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 10, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Lancaster

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a viking 2GB SD card in my nuvi 310 for V9 maps. Holds the whole of Europe with plenty of space spare for MP3 files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gavjbrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how long is it taking people to get their v9 update from garmin.

i ordered over 5 weeks ago and still no disc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Page 17 of 22

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping