Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Post Code Search
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Post Code Search
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spongiform
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:04 pm    Post subject: Post Code Search Reply with quote

My Mio 710 won't allow me to enter my full post code, after the first three letters it automatically jumps to a number of options begining with numbers 1/2/3/4, and if I choose 4, the next number in my post code, it only gives three (incorrect) options for my address. I live on an unnamed road though.

This means I cannot enter my address as 'Home' and I don't want to enter it as a POI. Does anyone else have this problem? Sad

Also if searching for anything by inputting names etc instead of allowing me to put the whole blooming name in, it jumps (incorrectly) to display places beginning with the first few letters and again I have to revert to typing letters before it jumps again and I again have to revert to typing the name, which is quite irritating. Sad

Other than that it's a great piece of kit though. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeeJay01
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 139
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Post Code Search Reply with quote

spongiform wrote:
My Mio 710 won't allow me to enter my full post code, after the first three letters it automatically jumps to a number of options begining with numbers 1/2/3/4, and if I choose 4, the next number in my post code, it only gives three (incorrect) options for my address. I live on an unnamed road though.

This means I cannot enter my address as 'Home' and I don't want to enter it as a POI. Does anyone else have this problem? Sad

Also if searching for anything by inputting names etc instead of allowing me to put the whole blooming name in, it jumps (incorrectly) to display places beginning with the first few letters and again I have to revert to typing letters before it jumps again and I again have to revert to typing the name, which is quite irritating. Sad

Other than that it's a great piece of kit though. :D


Spong,
I'm not surfe if you have given enough info. I think that you will have to give examples. I can search for almost any postcode that I want depending on the age of the map you have installed.
Normally the C710 will beep if you have spelt something incorrectly.

Dee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with spongiform. I can't find my friends postcode rg302uu in the list. This is just an example, I tired mine and I got an beep in return. my address can located through full address search though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeeJay01
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 139
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ysurya wrote:
I agree with spongiform. I can't find my friends postcode rg302uu in the list. This is just an example, I tired mine and I got an beep in return. my address can located through full address search though.


Ysurya & Spongiform,
OK let me guess. The postcode is Belmont Road in Reading
I think what you are doing wrong is not putting a space in the postcode.
You need to enter rg30 2uu. You will not get the beeping if you enter it in that way.
I had this problem before as I used to have a TomTom Sad and a space was not needed but now I have a proper satnav.

Let me know how you get on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good! It's sorted out now. Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticklepin
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 64
Location: South Midlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: Loss of seven figure post code search Reply with quote

Hi,
I suffer the same frustration as Spongiform. I have repeatedly updated the U.K. map on my 710, whereupon the address search refuses to accept the seven figure post code, jumps, offers some four figure alternatives, and then requests a street name.
This occurs however I attempt to enter the seven figure code, using the space as suggested by DeeJay or not, and despite soft and hard resets.
The only way I can recover the seven figure search is to re-enter the U.K. map from the supplied disc.
I seem to remember this difficulty being discussed in another thread but I’m not sure if it was fully resolved.
The map which works is 2006.01+ Tele Atlas [060515]
The last map which didn’t was 2006.01 Tele Atlas [060926]
I may have missed something, but would be grateful for advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeeJay01
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 139
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Loss of seven figure post code search Reply with quote

ticklepin wrote:
Hi,
I suffer the same frustration as Spongiform. I have repeatedly updated the U.K. map on my 710, whereupon the address search refuses to accept the seven figure post code, jumps, offers some four figure alternatives, and then requests a street name.
This occurs however I attempt to enter the seven figure code, using the space as suggested by DeeJay or not, and despite soft and hard resets.
The only way I can recover the seven figure search is to re-enter the U.K. map from the supplied disc.
I seem to remember this difficulty being discussed in another thread but I’m not sure if it was fully resolved.
The map which works is 2006.01+ Tele Atlas [060515]
The last map which didn’t was 2006.01 Tele Atlas [060926]
I may have missed something, but would be grateful for advice.


Send me the postcode that you are trying and I will see if it works on my C710
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
ticklepin
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 64
Location: South Midlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave,
CV34 4RA - it is the centre of Warwick.
Incidentally, my program version is: v3.2 Jan 18 2007
Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sallyann
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 768

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read this thread:

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=47171&

Sal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticklepin
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 64
Location: South Midlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Sal,
Thank you for the thread, which I have re-read with some renewed confusion.
Unhappily I can make little use of the expertise revealed in it, as the greatbritain7ppc.fbl seems reluctant to download for me.
When I wrote of the matter being ‘unresolved’ I meant unresolved by Mio.
Surely the software, if that is where the fault lies, should have corrected by now?

Ignoring the thorny TMC problems, it really would be quite nice if we could have seven figure postcode search and up-to-date maps merely by following instructions on the website.

Also, have you noticed that the ‘Online’ button on the ‘MioTransfer’ screen now offers us merely a USA or Canada option?
How to win friends and influence people indeed!

Regards and many thanks for your efforts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ernest_mio
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2006
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ticklepin wrote:
Dave,
CV34 4RA - it is the centre of Warwick.
Incidentally, my program version is: v3.2 Jan 18 2007
Regards.


works fine on my c710 v3.2 sept 22 2006
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticklepin
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 64
Location: South Midlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, ernest, that's what is so frustrating!
I guess I must persevere with the download and then, as I know nothing about Bluetooth, embark on the hack.
But I really don't think we ought to have to do it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ernest_mio
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2006
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ticklepin wrote:
Yes, ernest, that's what is so frustrating!
I guess I must persevere with the download and then, as I know nothing about Bluetooth, embark on the hack.
But I really don't think we ought to have to do it!


In my short time with the Mio frustration about sums it up. the unit is very good but its little Idiosyncrasies can be and are extremely frustrating. Not helped by the less than rapid actions of Mio to fix issues. With perseverance and a great deal of advise/assistance from this forum I think I'm getting there - the device does what I want it to do - well 95% of the time Wink

I recommend you use the Mio Transfer Hack rather than Bluetooth - much faster and therefore reduces some/a little of the frustration - :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticklepin
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 64
Location: South Midlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ernest
I managed to get the elusive ‘greatbritain7ppc.fbl’(91.6 MB) safely gathered in, after 5 attempts, from the link given by 'tattootroy' on the 26th October 06, the last post in “6/7 Digit postcode search not working after 3.2 upgrade” thread.

Taking courage in both hands, I then tried the ‘hack’.
After a little fumbling, surprised myself by how easy it was.
Success!
Until, that is, I tried the post-code test.
Back to the old fifth digit ‘jump’.
I review map designation and find the ’tombstone’!
Also, as reported elsewhere, the device suggested that my maps were out of date and to visit site.

This I did, and three hours and many restarts later, now have ‘greatbritain7ppc.fbl.’ (91.68MB) [2006.01+ 060926] installed.
This seems nominally identical to the ‘tombstone’ version, but the difference is that the seven figure post-code search now works and the tombstone has gone!
Wonderful!

Does anyone know whether there actually are some road updates in this file?

Also, another small point; the French map does not seem to accept abbreviations.
Thus ‘Ste Menehould’ does not work; ‘Sainte Menehould’ is required.
Initially I found this a little disconcerting.

Now, if the POI handling could be as efficient as TOMTOM, and if we could delete just individual items from ‘History’, then we would be getting somewhere!
May I also thank all the people whose efforts contribute so much to our knowledge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rronaldson
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2006
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To go slightly off topic for the moment ...... Ticklepin has mentioned his many attempts to download the GB map .......In such cases it's worth considering using a download manager as it can restart part downloads and also, in some cases, split a download into many parts and do them concurrently. I use Free Download Manager which, as it says, is free.
_________________
Reg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.072 (10 Jul 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping