Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - tomtom 6 and volume
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

tomtom 6 and volume
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kevf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:04 am    Post subject: tomtom 6 and volume Reply with quote

I have recently installed tomtom 6 on my ipaq 2210 its seems to work ok not done a lot of testing yet but... one problem i have found is the volume for the voices is very low has any one else experienced this or is it just me.. oh and i do have the volume to max it is also with the standard voices
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billyoem
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 21, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here.
Surely this must be a 'bug' ?
I've had to 'jack' it to my 'Aux' connector on my car stereo.

I might actually revert back to 5.21, if Tom Tom don't pull their figer out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad to see its not only me... i tend not to bother with the volume too much unless i am in a city and need to keep eyes on the road a bit more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heres the reply i got from tomtom my own fault for not really checking i suppose... but stil a i don't care attitude...

Dear Mr Fairbrother,

Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support.

Your PocketPC type is not compatible with TomTom NAVIGATOR 6. We cannot, unfortunately, guarantee that your PDA type will work free of problems in combination with our latest software.

We are, however, continuously testing devices to find a method to use our software on these devices. Only when we conclude that a device will work without problems after extensive testing will we say it is suitable and add it to our compatibility list.

It is possible that a device does not have the required capacity to work with our software due to, for example, a shortage of memory or a processor that is too slow. It is also possible that a PocketPC that was suitable in a previous version is no longer suitable in the new version in part because of the quickly expanding computer market.

To determine which devices are suitable for use with TomTom NAVIGATOR 6 please follow these steps:
1. Go to http://www.tomtom.com/products/
2. Click on "PDA navigation"
3. Click on the Navigator 6 pack you are interested in, e.g NAVIGATOR 6 - Software & Maps of Western Europe
4. Click on the 'Features' tab to view the compatibilty list for that Navigator 6 pack.

The information on this page is regularly updated. If your PocketPC is found to be suitable at a later stage, you will find this information on this page.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us should you require more information.
Please contact us should you have any questions or suggestions.

Kind regards,

TomTom Customer Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chipfork
Regular Visitor


Joined: 31/08/2003 13:27:51
Posts: 64
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may have some bearing. A colleague has TTNAV6 running and he tells me that the PDA (master) volume is no longer independent of the TTNAV volume settings, which I'm told it was in ver 5.

This means that if you set your PDA volume very low then the best you'll get out out of TTNAV on full volume is pretty pathetic. So along with going into the OS settings to set the appropriate screen orientation you'll need to also make sure the OS volume is set to high too, which you dind't have to do in version 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeirreOBollox
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Madam trixies house of ill repute

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so atm it isn`t worth upgrading my ipaq rx3715 to TT6 as I`ll end up with the same problem.
I spose that TT`s loss I suppose, as I was willing to spend on upgrading
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as is ay it does work apart from the voices but when you install theoretically you cant then put it on another PDA... so if you change pda you have to buy tomtom again... but they have said to me that if i contact them they will see what thye can do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
longwori
Regular Visitor


Joined: 15/04/2003 12:14:36
Posts: 151
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As chipfork says above - there is no problem with the voices, you just have to increase your PDA volume before going into TomTom and then it works fine. I agree its a shame V6 doesnt override the master volume as it did in V5.
_________________
TomTom Go 520, HTC Wildfire with CoPilot Live Premium UK & CoPilot Live Standard USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks that works never thought about that.. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerco
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can solve your volume problems with a unit from here.
http://www.fastmute.de/vers02_engl/index2.php?id=&parent=&versendet=

Gerco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solara
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 02/08/2003 04:42:33
Posts: 8
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or use this TomTom loader someone wrote. Requires NET 2 to be installed.

http://www.aximsite.com/boards/showthread.php?t=140969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
badbrat_uk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 12, 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the volume very low using TT v6. I bought a PDA holder on eBay that had an internal amplified speaker. Cost about 20. Loads of volume now!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WHAT IS NET 2 AND WHARE CAN I GET IT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrequentFlyer
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 12, 2006
Posts: 960
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

badbrat_uk wrote:
I found the volume very low using TT v6. I bought a PDA holder on eBay that had an internal amplified speaker. Cost about 20. Loads of volume now!!!



Why would you want 'loads of volume?? The last thing I want is 'Jane' bleating at me, let alone loudly. I can never understand why you want 'turn left, turn right'...forget it, all I want is notification of a camera...full stop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solara
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 02/08/2003 04:42:33
Posts: 8
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevengirdham wrote:
WHAT IS NET 2 AND WHARE CAN I GET IT


http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9655156b-356b-4a2c-857c-e62f50ae9a55&DisplayLang=en
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.014 (26 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping