Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 970T - to buy or not to buy - that is the question.
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

970T - to buy or not to buy - that is the question.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Hardware and Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Inkent
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:42 pm    Post subject: 970T - to buy or not to buy - that is the question. Reply with quote

Firstly - I'm a newbie here but have learnt a lot from your posts over the last few weeks. Thanks in advance for your help.

I was about to order a 970T when I began to see the dreaded 'discontinued' word across various sites. And then I found this forum.
So my question is: what now? I think there are 3 elements - maps, traffic info, and camera info (and possibly POI).
When VM cease to support these units, will we be able to download up-to-date maps from other sources? Similarly for traffic, although I assume that will continue. Is the camera info on the pocketgps site comparable with VM's? In short - is it worth still buying a 970T?

The alternative is going for a different brand. It's a jungle out there and it took me ages to find the 970T which seemed to do everything I needed. Are there any other similar solutions which keep the annual costs down to a reasonable level?

Many thanks
EddyDC
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since VM is at a dead end, I wouldn't put any money in it.

Last edited by EddyDC on Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05 pm; edited 2 times in total
perussell
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote