Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Was the 520 a mistake?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Was the 520 a mistake?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
c2rm
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:44 pm    Post subject: Was the 520 a mistake? Reply with quote

Hi

I have been using navigator 5 on an IPAQ4100 for the past 3 years with no real problems. However, the battery in my bluetooth tomtom gps receiver has died and it needs to be on continuous charge. As I was also in the market for a bluetooth car kit is seemed to amke sense to get a new Tomtom. Got 520 music for £161 from PC World 4 days ago.

Got it working with ipod using fm transmitter and hands free with nokia e65.

First long journey today taking son back to Uni. Constnatly needed to retune FM along M40/M6 - not good practice at 70mph! Got first incoming call and was pleased to see good display with wife's number and a big easy button to touch - however, as it connected the speaker became distorted and I couldn't hear a word being said. At this stage, only 2 hours into trip, the battery suddenly died which kiiled the FM transmitter and left the radio blasting interference at 90db.

I felt it best to pull over to reset the tomtom and did so at the next junction. Got it all reset and connected and plugged into car charger and strated off again. Bluetooth then worked ok but to be honest the volume of reception was too low even on highest setting. The speaker kept going fuzzy and in the end I turned off thre ipod as it was unworkable.