Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Get Speed Camera Warnings For SatNavs Get Speed Camera Warnings For Android Get Speed Camera Warnings For iPhone
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - CA on old Moto G4 running Android 7
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

CA on old Moto G4 running Android 7

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jackbarry
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 26, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:57 pm    Post subject: CA on old Moto G4 running Android 7 Reply with quote

Hi, after giving up trying to get my map back on my 750 LIVE I successfully used CA on my old G4 on a trip to Wales and back over the weekend. I was very impressed. Unfortunately yesterday I must have had "finger issues" (ie pressed something wrongly & have been unable to use it since. Upon loading CA the message is "Not tracking". Pressing the icon reveals "Warning: GPS is disabled Please allow "Use GPS satellites" in the "Location" settings of your device or start the Bluetooth GPS service. SHOW ME or CANCEL. Show me takes me to Google. I am a loss as to what is wrong there. Going to the device's settings I cannot see that there is anything wrong. I am stuck in a loop. I have tried uninstalling the CA app & reinstalling to no avail.

Can anyone identify what I am doing wrong?

jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14074
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the main phone settings look for Apps (or Applications). Find CamerAlert. Then tap it.

In the info page that comes up tap on Permissions

Make sure that Location is turned on

MaFt
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jackbarry
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 26, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MaFt, thanks for responding. I have checked as you suggest & Location is turned on. So, no change there.
jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14074
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it was previously working then it may be easier to uninstall and reinstall the app? You'll have to re-register and then re-link to your PGPSW account. However if you've accidentally changed a setting then a fresh install should resolve it.
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jackbarry
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 26, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said I have already uninstalled & reinstalled the app so I guess I shall have to try the reregistering?
jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b33jay
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 05, 2012
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jackbarry wrote:
Hi MaFt, thanks for responding. I have checked as you suggest & Location is turned on. So, no change there.
jack


I use Moto G2. Check apps GPS status
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackbarry
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 26, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks b33jay. Your reply prompted me to google my query and I found the answer: G4 Settings - Location - Mode - High accuracy. I tried it on a short trip this mornng & everything now seems to work apart from the male voice alert I have been using and I guess I should be able to fix that.

So, it's now back to trying to get my 750 working and if unsuccessful I'll have to buy a new TT 6200 to complement CA speed cameras or perhaps a Garmin for the first time.

Thanks to all that replied, jack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
17.054 (22 May 19)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping