Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TT 620 or 6200
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TT 620 or 6200

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lincol
Lifetime Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:51 pm    Post subject: TT 620 or 6200 Reply with quote

Just trying to decide if it is worth paying the difference between the 620 & 6200. The only difference appears to be the traffic update method. The 6200 has its own SIM card and the 620 updates traffic via a smartphone. I appreciate the 620 will use data on my phone and incur charges. I know that the TT traffic is far better than Garmin's and I know the 6200 traffic is very good but I have no experience of how good TT traffic is via smartphone.
Any help or experience of this would be appreciated.
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for my benefit - how is TT traffic better than Garmin ?

My Garmin digital traffic (Inrix) has been very accurate each time I've used it.
However ... Garmin traffic via the Smartphone link system is from viaMichelin and that is extremely suspect. I can vouch for that from personal experience.

Just as an aside:
Many years ago there were loads of posts here about TT traffic limiting it's info to originally 50 miles, then, after complaints to 100 miles.
The argument at the time was that if you were on a long journey that had a few possible routes then traffic (roadworks) near the other end wouldn't be shown until you were closer and had commited to that route.

I know on my Garmin if I plot a long route it shows me the traffic for its entirity.
Viofo A119 V3