Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Traffic never showing up
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Traffic never showing up

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:34 am    Post subject: Traffic never showing up Reply with quote

I have a older (I think it's a 2515 from memory) model with the non-digital traffic. The traffic never shows up.

I have driven 160 miles up the M1 and the whole time the unit just keeps on saying Traffic Provider : Auto - searching.

Any suggestions that I can try?

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another cable? Sounds like it may be faulty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmm.. will try wiggling it around a bit.

It's well out of warranty so if it is the cable I will probably stump up for one of the new smartlink models.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2598 keeps on calling my name as the price of the 3598 makes my eyes water...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought a 2508 a while back and love it Wink

Had no need for Bluetooth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am comparing the traffic to the tomtom app on my smartphone. (This doesn't work properly any more and tomtom seem unable to help) so I need the bluetooth to get the enhanced traffic via the smartlink data connection.

From what I can gather the traffic via the smartlink is more accurate than the DAB TMC?

I have to say that one of my fav features is the voice activation. I really am too impatient to wait for the thing to start (my current model takes a couple of minutes to start up). I like to pop it into the cradle and simply tell it to navigate me to work as I'm driving through the village.

S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tested on way home. The device is a 2460 and it has a GTM 36 antenna.

Interesting bit is that the "accessory socket" plug on the GTM 36 has an LED that doesn't light up when it's plugged in, yet it provides power to the 2460 itself.

S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might like to try the tips here https://support.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/case.faces?caseId=%7B1523cad0-34d1-11de-76c5-000000000000%7D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6686
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My 2597 has Smartlink and it's superb. What I especially like is that it shows the traffic for the whole of my route so I can see roughly where to avoid.

I also like the AI that after a few weeks can predict where it thinks your going. In my case my main journey is home to work and vice-versa. When I set off the Garmin shows me my ETA to either even though I haven't plotted a route.

This means I don't get the navigation prompts but I do get accurate traffic.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have put in a support ticket with Garmin. Will see what they say.

With the 2597/8.. You says it's go a good traffic overview map? This would be one of my more important requirements (I know my route to work, but like to see all of the different routes I could take just in case my normal one gets slow).

Can you access the traffic overview map with the Voice Activation?

S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6686
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think their traffic overview is this:





It shows the traffic along your entire journey. In this example it's showing traffic for my 20 mile journey to work.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muckypup
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you not switch to a 2D map that you can zoom in/out and see all traffic in the area?

S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6686
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does have a 2D feature but I've never used it
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenrw
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trouble is my favourite map colours clash with the traffic colours , which you could alter them .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.082 (10 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping