Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - BT BROADBAND (Wireless).
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

BT BROADBAND (Wireless).
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:04 pm    Post subject: BT BROADBAND (Wireless). Reply with quote

About a year ago I signed up to BT High Speed Broadband - up to 79Mbps. Using http://www.speedtest.net/ I was getting around 30 or so Mbps, quite fast and I was happy with this. However, as time went by I found I was getting a lot of 'drop-outs' and often, late at night, the speed would drop to around 16Mbps.

I complained and went round in circles until I e-mailed the CEO. Things got moving and I was given a 'personal' rep to deal with my problem.

He said to be able to get the fastest speed I would need an Ethernet cable, as there was always a 'loss' over wireless. He would send me a cable to see if there was an improvement. I said I would need one 15 metre long to reach from one end of the room to the other, taking into account interior walls. They don't have one this long so he suggested...

We do have another solution known as Power Line networking, which would route the network connection through your internal electrical wiring (avoiding any wireless interference).

Two 'plugs' duly arrived and I connected them to the mains, one end a cable from Modem to plug, the other the plug to the computer.

Now getting 58.44Mbps download and 9.44Mbps upload.

If anyone else using BT wireless and experiencing slow speeds I would suggest they ask for Power Line networking kit. After all, you are paying for higher speed and should be getting it.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marksfish
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jun 25, 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Sandy, Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You also need to make sure your laptop or wireless device is wireless N for the increased speeds. I had to upgrade drivers and buy dongles to make the most of my speed increase, it was stuck at 20mb before.

Also, off topic a bit. Try your mobile phone with sim in and see what speed you get. Then either take the sim out or put in flight mode and activate wireless and see the speed difference!!
_________________
Garmin Drivesmart 51 LMT-D Europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had all the correct gear for wireless but still had problems until the 'plugs' arrived.

Evidently you can lose around 50% of speed going wireless and 25% via the house mains. To get full advantage I would have to go wired but even if I could get one 15 metres long there would still be a loss and I'd never get the full 79Mbps that is reaching my house.

The only answer is to move the computer to the other end of the room and use maybe a metre long cable.

only 14% of National and 11% of Global have a faster connection, according to http://www.speedtest.net/

As for testing with the mobile phone. Mine is so old it works on North Sea Gas. Razz
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How have you established that you are getting "79Mbs to your house"? It is extremely unusual to get the "up to" speed.

You could try moving the computer temporarily and try the wired connection with a short network cable. If any increased speed is worth the effort, which I doubt, you could probably get your local computer shop to knock you up a 15M cable at a modest cost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14647
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was really upset with BT. I was told I could get up to 60MB. In reality I get 65-75MB 24 hours a day. I was also told I would get 17MB upload speed but it's frequently above 20MB. It's awful Wink

Seriously though, I didn't realise BT offered the powerline adapters. Might have to pester them for some of these for the PC in the attic - the WiFi reaches OK but they don't need to know that ;)

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
How have you established that you are getting "79Mbs to your house"? It is extremely unusual to get the "up to" speed.

Downloaded a BT Desktop help and it tests the speed in and what you are getting at the computer. Having said that, since I recently purchased Windows 7 it will only work on wireless. Crying or Very sad

Quote:
I was really upset with BT. I was told I could get up to 60MB. In reality I get 65-75MB 24 hours a day. I was also told I would get 17MB upload speed but it's frequently above 20MB. It's awful Wink

I hate MaFt Evil or Very Mad

Quote:
Might have to pester them for some of these for the PC in the attic

Good luck with that, they do work although you may have to settle for 58Mbps. Wink
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerryC
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: West Mids

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The big test with power cable bridges is how is your data affected when you run a few "dirty" devices at the same time (spin cycle on washing machine, hoover, cheap fan etc). It was never designed for data.

As noted, buy or get a cable made up. You can do 100m from router to PC. Cat5 is rated upto 100Mb/s and Cat6 1,000Mb/s if your router and PC card can handle it. I'm surprised you haven't done structured cabling throughout the house MaFt. Laughing

Stuck on 8Mb but at least that's all I'm paying for. I have saved a result from the speedtest app showing 38Kb/s from when the line was faulty. Evil or Very Mad

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14647
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GerryC wrote:
I'm surprised you haven't done structured cabling throughout the house MaFt. Laughing

I considered it once for shelf an hour. My oldest brother hard wired his house when he re-wired it. Our old house was an 1840 stone-built cottage so there would have been no easy route to feed the cables without too much disruption. I settled for an expensive router that handled the stone walls really well - even up to the attic!

We moved house at the end of last year and to be honest even with BTs own router the wifi is fast enough up to the attic so I just can't be bothered hard-wiring it all!

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14848
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Virgin broadband is up to 60MB. I get consistently 62, but the upload is steadily around 2.85. Upload used to be a bit above 3 before I upgraded to 60MB. Should I be grumbling at them?
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would complain Dennis, upload should surely be faster than that. Mine's around the 9 Mbps.

I notice you say 60MB, as in megabytes, figures are usually in megabits. i.e 60Mbps.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14647
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Border_Collie wrote:
I would complain Dennis, upload should surely be faster than that. Mine's around the 9 Mbps.

I notice you say 60MB, as in megabytes, figures are usually in megabits. i.e 60Mbps.


He's an old man - he won't have a chuffin' clue what you just said there!! Laughing Out Loud Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14848
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spot on MaFt. That Speedtest.net thing shows 62 thingies download and less than 3 upload. I don't know what they are, they start with either M or m.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not the 'M' thingy that counts, it's the 'B' thingy. A B thingy is eight timed bigger than a 'b' thingy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
A B thingy is eight timed bigger than a 'b' thingy.

Therefore Dennis a B thingy would be 8 times faster than a b thingy .

The M thingy stands for Mega whereas m thingy would stand for milli as in mW meaning milliWatts.

Not only that =mc2 but only when there is a B, b, M or m in the month except leap years.

There you have it.

All so simple really. Razz
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the question boils down to... Is Dennis a big "B" or a little "b"? Very Happy
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.081 (04 Aug 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping