Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Lost live services on my 540 for the last two days!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Lost live services on my 540 for the last two days!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:08 pm    Post subject: Lost live services on my 540 for the last two days! Reply with quote

Hi All,
On my 540 live iam unable to get the live services working the last two days.

Network shows connected and even formatted unit and reloaded a backup from when unit was out the box. i then allowed the updates until iam on latest and i accepts my login info.
Services show still in date (as they are).

I know the 540 had this problem before but can't get it to work today.
TT website is a joke even trying to submit a question these days.

Anyone any ideas what to try next?
Kev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
technik
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Midlands UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try a hard reset?
_________________
GO 620, Tomtom Android EU,
Garmin 2548LMT-D; 2599LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Yeah did a reset by holding down button until drum roll, no change.
Also Clearflash tool,no change.
then reset factory settings, no change.
Then full format and copy a backup i did when unit was brand new then updates, no change.
Unit reports network okay but just get the spinning wheel before giving up trying to connect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRCC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 06, 2008
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gluey

I have the same problem - no traffic yesterday or today. Mine is also a 540 Live. I'm still running Navcore v8.371 as it was unbearably slow to receive the traffic download when i last tried a v9. I'm wondering if they have now changed something with the traffic and now it won't work on older Navcores. What are you running?

The Live Weather works so it can definitely connect to Live services. It says my traffic subscription is still valid too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graeme2812
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 297
Location: Dundee, Scotland UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the same position. I contacted Customer care today and their reply was;

"As I explained on the phone, we are currently experiencing some issues with LIVE services on certain devices. I have logged your case in our system as somebody who is affected by these connectivity issues. We are investigating into it further, as soon as we have a solution we will inform you.

I apologise for any inconvenience that this is causing you in the meantime and thank you for your patience while we work to find a solution."


Guess it's just a waiting game. For me all other live services are working, weather, search etc.[/i]
_________________
Graeme Bennett
Go 540 LIVE
App. 9.510.1234792.1 (2039,04/04/2013)
United Kingdom & ROI v945.6174
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all for the replies.
Why can't TT give out this information to their customers via the web home page?
Would save alot of hassle and support calls.

Ps Iam on the latest version of 9.465
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRCC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 06, 2008
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just logged a ticket with TT support. I'm sure they'll tell me the same as Graeme2812 but it might help keep the pressure on them...

I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRCC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 06, 2008
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gluey wrote:
Thanks all for the replies.
Why can't TT give out this information to their customers via the web home page?
Would save alot of hassle and support calls.

Ps Iam on the latest version of 9.465


Thanks for the info - i won't bother trying the update then. Cheers!

Is anyone's 540 Live working with Live Traffic yesterday/today?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at the mess TT are causing,
http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/LIVE-Services-HD-Traffic-and/Live-traffic-not-working/td-p/433194/highlight/false
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matthewj
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is of course linked to the other hot thread - the larger horizon that the devices are being asked to download. They are capable of handling it, but the cellular contract is not. Unfortunately the only solution is that they reduce the range again.

(The cellular contract is the only option that makes sense, but is not proven, nor is it denied.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spook51
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 26, 2004
Posts: 548
Location: East Midlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FUBAR in Derbyshire with my 940 on a short test run today prior to a drive to the Midlands and back (snow permitting) on Sunday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
technik
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Midlands UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This afternoon HD Traffic is not working for me now.
It was ok this morning, and this is first time I have had no traffic issue for a long time.
_________________
GO 620, Tomtom Android EU,
Garmin 2548LMT-D; 2599LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRCC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 06, 2008
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MRCC wrote:
I've just logged a ticket with TT support. I'm sure they'll tell me the same as Graeme2812 but it might help keep the pressure on them..


Well i got a different reply - do a full factory reset etc then report back!!

I'm not going to waste my time doing that - the problem is clearly at their end not on my device. It really bugs me that TT support can bury its head in the sand like this or wilfully mislead...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rwbaldwin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 24, 2012
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a TomTom One v1. The traffic is via an external O2 GPRS connection. Whenever the Live services go down it keeps on running, so I suspect that the problem may be carrier related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emjaiuk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2003
Posts: 335
Location: North Surrey (TW17) UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Result of phone call about 3:00 pm today:-

Discussion Thread
Response Via Email (Thomas C. (UK)) 08/02/2013 03.27 PM
DearXXXXXX,

The reference number for your query is XXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Hello, itís XXXXXX here from the TomTom Customer Support Team. Thank you for your phone call earlier today. I am pleased that we have managed to resolve the rebooting issue with one of your TomTom devices.

As mentioned, my Second Line Technical Team have informed me that it is currently an issue with our servers and I have myself received a few calls regarding the same issue today. They have assured me that it is something which they are currently working hard to resolve. It may be an intermittent issue so it is definitely worth trying again later.

I do hope that the Services are back up and running again soon and I am sorry for any inconvenience which has been caused.

Please do let me know once the HD Traffic is back up and running again. If you should have any more questions or require further assistance in the mean time, let me know by replying to this email and I can always give you a call back.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With Kind Regards

XXXXXXXX

The TomTom Customer Care Team
_________________
Go740L App 9.510 Europe 985.8155
RDS_TMC mount
Home 2.8.3.2499 Win10 Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.033 (15 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping