Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Do We Have a Compatable Alpine database?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Do We Have a Compatable Alpine database?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1930

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Our posts crossed, thanks for the info.

Yes, I think that you are correct, cancel the existing scdb database with an empty file of the same name. Check the SatNav to ensure that there is no trace of any cameras and load a new set of camera locations from here.

But, you have said that you think that you may have found the problem with the scdb cameras in that you may have had your unit on "mute", has taking it off of mute solved your problems?
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6664
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the idea of using a couple of test cameras is the way to go.

If your positive that your cameras are not directional then the 'Direction' seems pointless.
If that is the case and placing a zero against all entries freezes the unit then I'm hoping that that column isn't a checksum.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r4robert
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2012
Posts: 46
Location: London, Wandsworth SW17

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AliOnHols wrote:
At the moment I'm confused as to the origin of the cameras you have loaded (i.e scdb or pgpsw), which cameras you actually have loaded, what the file name is, what format it is in and where on your satnav they are stored.

Hi

I have loaded the scdb database (UK cameras only) on to my 928.

The above database is called "SpeedCamText.txt" and is first copied on to an SD card on my PC, then removed and inserted in to the 928.

The 928 then copies the entire database in to its internal memory, and the SD card is removed.

The database looks like this (first 4 lines of 5711):

X,Y,TYPE,SPEED,DIRTYPE,DIRECTION
-1.76461,53.79522,1,30,0,130e3
0.21183,51.40644,1,,0,52f2
-1.90922,52.51594,1,30,0,7b202

The "X,Y,TYPE,SPEED,DIRTYPE,DIRECTION" is always part of the downloaded scdb database.

I hope I am making sense this time?

Robert Smile
_________________
"Anyone who says he can see through women is missing a lot." - Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r4robert
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2012
Posts: 46
Location: London, Wandsworth SW17

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AliOnHols wrote:
But, you have said that you think that you may have found the problem with the scdb cameras in that you may have had your unit on "mute", has taking it off of mute solved your problems?
Yes, the lack of audible alert was a 'pilot error' and now all is working fine.

Thanks for the advice on erasing the current scdb database.

I'm about to do that and then install a iGO database downloaded from PGPSW, and modified by removing the last 2 0's, this evening.

I will report back shortly.

Thanks Smile
_________________
"Anyone who says he can see through women is missing a lot." - Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another idea could be to put a 1 in the DitType column of the scdb database in a couple of local cams (Lat Lon from out submission map) and see if they become directional. i.e. Alert in one direction but not the other. Or does the scdb do this anyway? If it does then the direction info is possibly encoded in the last column, and the acct of 'copying' from the SD to the device sorts it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r4robert
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2012
Posts: 46
Location: London, Wandsworth SW17

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have hit a snag.

I can upload an empty scdb database to the 928 so as to erase it from the unit.

What I have been trying to do this evening is find a local camera that I can drive by and test the alert, etc.

The iGO database has a camera in Balham High Road/junction Marius Road. Coordinates taken from the PGPSW database (Yellow "we need you") give its location as 51.44011 -0.15568.

So I then downloaded the iGO database UK, which is a text file, and did a search for "51.44011" (and also 51.440). I was expecting to find my favourite camera in the database amongst the thousands of others, but NO, it's not there. So I cannot go out and test it.

You see my intention is to load this camera location and test various variations on the exact syntax needed to get my 928 to recognise it.
For example the general view is that the iGO coordinates need to have the 2 zeros removed off the end of each line.

Anyway, this is all pie in the sky, because I can't find that Balham High Road camera, or anything close to it.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks Smile
_________________
"Anyone who says he can see through women is missing a lot." - Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1930

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just downloaded the iGo Uk cams from the PgpsW download page. sorted them for Wandsworth Lat/Long, deleted all the others and was left with this -


-0.21986,51.44987,1,40,1,51
-0.2193,51.45624,1,30,1,18
-0.21425,51.45259,1,30,1,55
-0.18011,51.46548,1,30,1,40
-0.17531,51.4515,1,40,1,150
-0.17351,51.44941,1,30,1,328


hope it helps.

EDIT - Here is where the cams are situated


_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 12.


Last edited by AliOnHols on Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

r4robert wrote:
The iGO database has a camera in Balham High Road/junction Marius Road. Coordinates taken from the PGPSW database (Yellow "we need you") give its location as 51.44011 -0.15568.

So I then downloaded the iGO database UK, which is a text file, and did a search for "51.44011" (and also 51.440). I was expecting to find my favourite camera in the database amongst the thousands of others, but NO, it's not there. So I cannot go out and test it.
It is unlikely that the scdb database will have exactly the same co-ordinates as the PGPSW one and it may just be that it isn't in theirs. Incidentally, neither of the two fixed cams on Balham Hill and Balham High Road have the same co-ordinates that you have given. They are at 51.44564, -0.15061 and 51.43918,-0.15618 The second one is the closest to your locationbut about 120 yards south(ish). The location that you gave is pretty much the junction you mentioned, but the cam is not at that junction, It's at the junction of Balham High Road and Upper Tooting Park.
Quote:
For example the general view is that the iGO coordinates need to have the 2 zeros removed off the end of each line.
This is not the general view. It is a suggestion for you to try to see if it will load onto your device with them absent. iGO usually uses the last two colums as it says in the header, Direction Type and Heading'
Quote:
What am I doing wrong?
Looking in the wrong place for 'your' camera. Very Happy Very Happy

@ Ali. He is looking for the cam in the scdb database not ours and you are also looking in the wrong place. His cam is GATSO:[email protected] Heading:15 (Single Direction) at 51.43918, -0.15618 and you have missed that one Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1930

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi M8TJT, r4robert gives his location as Wandsworth so I just picked the nearest fixed cameras around there as an example and to satisfy myself that it could be done. Hopefully r4robert shall add the Balham cam details to the Wandsworth cams and upload them to the 928 for testing.
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 12.


Last edited by AliOnHols on Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Multiple confusion here... but lets start at the beginning. You seem to hjave gone wrong right from the top when you say this:

r4robert wrote:

The iGO database has a camera in Balham High Road/junction Marius Road. Coordinates taken from the PGPSW database (Yellow "we need you") give its location as 51.44011 -0.15568.


How did you get those coordinates? 'Cos there is no camera there on our submission map.

But there is one about 130metres south of that position, at 51.43918,-0.15618 which agrees with your next statement.

As a general note, whenever entering coordinates on the submission map, make suree you put a comma between the Lat and Long and NO space. (thus - 51.43918,-0.15618)
You get some weird results if you don't stick to that rule.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1930

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
Multiple confusion here...

So it's not just me, Hurrah! Very Happy
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r4robert
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2012
Posts: 46
Location: London, Wandsworth SW17

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5 different SD card makes were used, just to be sure the unit wasn't being picky.

3 databases were tried, two of which were suggested on this forum:-

The iGO PGPSW database was in its original form:

X,Y,Type,Speed,DirType,Direction
-0.21986,51.44987,1,40,0,0
-0.2193,51.45624,1,30,0,0
-0.21425,51.45259,1,30,0,0
-0.18011,51.46548,1,30,0,0
-0.17531,51.4515,1,40,0,0
-0.17351,51.44941,1,30,0,0

then a variant:

X,Y,Type,Speed,DirType,Direction
-0.21986,51.44987,1,40,1,51
-0.2193,51.45624,1,30,1,18
-0.21425,51.45259,1,30,1,55
-0.18011,51.46548,1,30,1,40
-0.17531,51.4515,1,40,1,150
-0.17351,51.44941,1,30,1,328

neither worked :-(

So to recap, this is the scdb database that works fine:

X,Y,TYPE,SPEED,DIRTYPE,DIRECTION
-1.76461,53.79522,1,30,0,130e3
0.21183,51.40644,1,,0,52f2
-1.90922,52.51594,1,30,0,7b202
-0.23544,51.34519,1,30,0,6e568
0.11528,51.53267,4,40,0,8bc70
0.09933,51.53114,4,40,0,7eefd

-----------------------
Although not conclusive, I believe that the cameras on the scdb database may be directional.

Travelling up and down the A3 yesterday, all the cameras on my side of the central reservation bleeped.

On the way back, these cameras were silent, whilst those I passed at close quarters bleeped. Does this mean they are directional?

Thanks Smile
_________________
"Anyone who says he can see through women is missing a lot." - Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possibly and from what you say, likely. But to prove the point you really need to drive by one or more cams on a single carriageway, doing the same sort of test. If they are directional, then the Alpine obviously does some clever things with the last column data. iGO usually uses the DIRTYPE and DIRECTION to decide whether it alerts or not. I will make my local cam non-directional tomorrow and do a drive by to see if it fails to alert when it's on 'the other' carriageway.

When you say your variants of the pgpsw database didn't work, what didn't work? Did they not load or did they not display the cams etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6664
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If they are directional then we need some form of simple conversion.

Initially possibly a simple N,S,E and W comparison so some of the last column can be converted one to one from one in the list.

What makes this task a bit difficult is that the Lat and Long is slightly different.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kremmen wrote:
What makes this task a bit difficult is that the Lat and Long is slightly different.
That's not really surprising is it? Not all our cams are exactly where the database says they are, but they are, on the whole, pretty damn close. Provided that the lat/lon is close enough to compare, which in most of the ones that are listed somewhere above are, then a comparison can be done.
Edit to corret typos


Last edited by M8TJT on Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 5 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.064 (22 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping