Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Announce GO LIVE 800 Series
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Announce GO LIVE 800 Series
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:57 pm    Post subject: Re: 825 Touchscreen Comparison with the 100x Reply with quote

WillRansom wrote:
Does anyone know where I can get a goose-neck screen mount for my 1005? My arms aren't long enough to reach the lovely 1005 with its short mounting.

Depending upon the car you drive it should be possible to get a Brodit Pro-Clip to straddle one of the air vents and attach the mount to that - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
WillRansom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 10, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Ashford, Kent, England

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:18 am    Post subject: Re: 825 Touchscreen Comparison with the 100x Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
WillRansom wrote:
Does anyone know where I can get a goose-neck screen mount for my 1005? My arms aren't long enough to reach the lovely 1005 with its short mounting.

Depending upon the car you drive it should be possible to get a Brodit Pro-Clip to straddle one of the air vents and attach the mount to that - Mike


Thanks Mike. I would rather use a Screen-mount which is more flexible, so that when "The Boss" decides she wants to see what's going on, the air vents stay intact (sorry dear). I have scoured the Brodit and several other sites and as yet there appears to be nothing for the 100X series with a gooseneck. Maybe a bit of bricolage is called for here... You know, a bit of one attached to a bit of another.

On another note, when I logged on to the TomTom website last evening, to register my unit, it insisted that I download three necessary updates
1. Something that was greyed-out, so obviously I couldn't.
2. Western Europe Maps 998MB (only 21 Countries - this looks suspiciously like the same Western European map I have on my old IPAQ H2210 v6.75) - didn't want this, or do I..??
3. Europe 3.xxxGB - forgot to check the version number before starting.
As I didn't want to drop from the advertised 45 countries to a mere 21, thereby severely limiting my weekend travels, I opted for the 3GB. Well, with my snail-mail Broadband (MAX 1MB on a VERY good day, and that is a business line!!!), it took well over 8 hours to download, and I still have to install it on my TT. How am I going to do that without deleting what is already there as it only has 4GB on board? Can anyone enlighten me? I have had to leave the Pc logged on to TT waiting to do the install, until this evening when I return from the salt mine.
_________________
WillR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If this is a 100x you are referring to then you don't install it, it's automated and you have no involvement in the process?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
WillRansom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 10, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Ashford, Kent, England

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
If this is a 100x you are referring to then you don't install it, it's automated and you have no involvement in the process?


Thanks Darren. I have only got to the point of being instructed to reconnect my 1005 to the Pc, after it finally finished downloading the 3.7-odd GB from TomTom overnight. Sorry for being a bit dense over this, but so that I'm absolutely clear over this, should I do what the TT website is telling me to do - (re)connect my device and let it get on with whatever it wants to do...?? This will only happen this evening when I return home providing the website hasn't thrown me out during the day. once I am up and running again, I will send in a new post with a comparison between my new 1005 and my old H2210 v6.75, as there are a few quite startling things to report. Cheers - Will
_________________
WillR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, just connect the unit and leave MyTomTom to do its thing.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
WillRansom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 10, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Ashford, Kent, England

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
Yes, just connect the unit and leave MyTomTom to do its thing.


Thanks again. Let's hope that between me and the TT website we get it right and there are no tears at bed-time. Cheers.. Will
_________________
WillR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WillRansom wrote:
Darren wrote:
Yes, just connect the unit and leave MyTomTom to do its thing.


Thanks again. Let's hope that between me and the TT website we get it right and there are no tears at bed-time. Cheers.. Will


At least if it DOES all go wrong, you can't blame yourself...

(As there's nothing you can do to influence the process like you could in the old days! ) Laughing

I have to say... that after a pretty dodgy start, the MyTomTom interface seems to be working quite well now.
The remaining problems seem to be getting it to agree with what you think should be available (or not).
But once it HAS decided to give you something, it now seems to deliver it to you reasonably competently.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skumba
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 07, 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:45 pm    Post subject: Updating my new Go Live 1005 Reply with quote

Well, the update/download was entirely painless - but definitely sleepless. I started at about 9pm and finished the initial download of 3.7-odd GB around 5am the next morning. So much for broadband where I live...!! In great fear of doing anything stupid or the TT website demanding to do everything again the following evening, I left the Pc connected to the TT download webpage, wanting me to connect my 1005. Having just experienced an 8-hour download, I wasn't about to try to fix everything before I set off for the salt-mine was I? I could have because when I got home that evening, I connected my 1005, and it was finished in just over 40 minutes. HOWEVER..!! MyTT still wants me to download the 21-Country Western European Maps (about 998MB), which are, strangely, the same size as my old v6.75 WE Maps on my IPAQ H2210 running TT6. Surely, with the 34-Country European Maps (3.xGB) I don't need them? Or do I? Please advise me.
**
One thing I have noticed is that my 1005 can't count... It thinks that the metric equivalent of 70mph is 115kmh. Even my old TT6 knew it was 113. PLEASE, Tom-Tom. Get your ducks right!! I haven't been able to check any other metric limits yet. It is also very slow acknowledging changes in speed limit. I pass the various sign-posts and after anything between 50 and 150metres my 1005 is still showing the wrong limit, which, from 8 years experience, my old TT6 with 6.75 Maps NEVER did.
**
Overall, I am pleased, but it is amazing how many steps TT has taken backwards while going forward.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At a guess you have used an e-mail address to register the new toy with the TomTom server that has been previously used on another TomTom device or product, give them a ring on 0845 161 0009 to resolve this on Monday morning.

The e-mail you use to register any TomTom product MUST be unique, in fact it can be so unique that it doesn't have to actually work, it simply needs to be in the recognised format [email protected] would be acceptable to the TomTom system for the new unit - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.022 (08 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping