Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Brixly - Fast, Reliable, Secure UK Web Hosting
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Truck and Caravan add ons
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Truck and Caravan add ons

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mark1968
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:06 am    Post subject: Truck and Caravan add ons Reply with quote

I am considering purchasing one of the 70 series units. I am a HGV driver and am looking for a unit for work and am looking at getting the truck add on.

Has anyone tried this and if so does it work?
inthe128
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the truck map add on, although I have a TomTom with truck installed and as that seems to do the job very well, so I use that.

I have yet to use it in the UK, but mainland Europe, east, west and central for me has caused oddness. It certainly routes different to a car, but the routes are a bit to whacky for me, an example would be driving to Poland towards Wrocław on the E40 and it telling me to turn off at Dresden and follow the E55, then A roads to Cottbus, crossing into Poland at Forst, thats a long detour around and for no reason as the E40 has no restrictions. It tries to re-route until it joins A18 which is the road down from Forst.

A few other examples of whacky routing lead me not to trust it and it does seem happy to put you under a low bridge without warning, so i do feel the truck data is not advanced, cannot speak of the UK.