Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Updated TT one v3 now no voice
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Updated TT one v3 now no voice

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:34 pm    Post subject: Updated TT one v3 now no voice Reply with quote

I have just updated the app software on a friends One v3 (the old app was from 2007) now theres no voices / noises. Do I need to download new voice files?
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You shouldn't need to.

Have you tried re-selecting the voice and sound effects in the menus?

Have you tried a full-reset?
(Use a straightened paper clip, or something similar, to push the reset button for 15 seconds - pictures and details HERE)

If there are no voices available in the menu, then something has gone wrong. Check for files in the "voices" folder.

There should be at least one set of files with names like
dataxx.chk
dataxx.vif

(where xx is a two-digit number)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried a reset, there are voices in the folder and I have selected each of them and hit the test button still no sound.
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you make a backup before you updated the software?

If you did, the quickest solution would probably be just to go back to that, check everything is working and then try the update again.

One thought... have you actually TRIED it (eg on a demo route)
I think I've found in the past that the test button doesn't work sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did do a windows backup, I havent tried it on a demo route. I will try and get the v3 back and re-install the backup - and go from there.
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14873
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for giggles, the last time I came across this, when I checked the device it had the sound turned OFF (Change Preferences, Turn off sound). Very Happy
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
.... it had the sound turned OFF ...
Or maybe turned right down. Smile
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They were the first and second things I checked....
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
exportman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

The V3 has more ram available so the navcore will not run the full version on V1 or 2 machines. It will work OK but you need to cut some things out.

I have the App 9.205. runing fine on my V2 but I found the solution on another forum.

I think the main thing missing things is ALG but I'm not sure what else
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply, sorry I don't understand what you mean. You say the v3 has more memory, but you then say it won't work on v1 and v2 I have a v3. So whats the connection? Why is / would ALG be missing or should I take it out????

Very confused Shocked
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
exportman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G4GVB wrote:
Thanks for the reply, sorry I don't understand what you mean. You say the v3 has more memory, but you then say it won't work on v1 and v2 I have a v3. So whats the connection? Why is / would ALG be missing or should I take it out????

Very confused Shocked


Sorry it was me getting confused I had miss read your original question. Ill shut up and go away Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G4GVB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update...... It speaker had become intermittent. Sorted now.. Thanks for your time on this one guys...
_________________
GO 750 LIVE v9.430 - v8.753612 EU map
XL 350 MT v9.151 - v8.75366 US Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.093 (21 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping