Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Help needed to test our CamerAlert application on Android
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Help needed to test our CamerAlert application on Android
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alfie
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shut down unexpectedly twice today whilst running in the background.
No error messages or "force close" indications.
I have read other threads that mention "crash logs" if you need them please can you tell me where to locate them on my phone and I will send them on.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15033
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Re: some initial feedback - well done Reply with quote

TheMagnumFan wrote:
Also....Not sure if database error or app error. I was heading north up M6 and entered the 50mpg average camera section before Hilton Park services. I like the way the average speed popped up automatically.. BUT it didnt switch off when I exited the average camera zone (approx 3miles before Hilton Park. It was still warning about average speed at Keele Services. I pulled off and reset the app.. average camera now off. So it looks like the app switches on the average speed zone automatically but doesnt clear correctly (app or database error?).

database deficiency by the sounds of it! i'll take a look...
...OK, SPECS:73543 hadn't been marked as an END camera (this would normally end the average speed stuff). you can, however, simply tap the speed/average speed display in the top left to manually cancel or start average speed mode - saves you having to exit the app and restart.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15033
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arndale wrote:
Hi,

I've only had a little play so far but thought I'd report my first bug. I tried to change maps to Show 'Never' as I started the program whist away from the wifi and there was a very poor phone signal, but I got a Force Close.
When I went back into the app it had taken the setting fine.
I have a Vodafone Nexux One running FRG83D

Dean


I'm getting this too. can you send the logs to lutz please?

see here: http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=85575

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15033
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alfie wrote:
Shut down unexpectedly twice today whilst running in the background.
No error messages or "force close" indications.
I have read other threads that mention "crash logs" if you need them please can you tell me where to locate them on my phone and I will send them on.
Thanks.


crash log info here: http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=85575

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't send the logs for that one (Crash after setting to "Never"), it is already fixed. Thanks!
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ashimmin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some observations and suggestions so far from testing on a Nexus One with 2.2.1

1. It would be useful when choosing the alert sound it the sound was played so you knew what you were choosing.

2. In the Advanced Settings there are slide bars for adjusting sensitivity for heading and bearing. It's very easy to tap these and change them by accident. A 'reset to defaults' option would be useful.

3. I think that after having been used in conjunction with Navigation the GPS is not released when Exit is selected. A Force Close is required before the GPS is turned off.

4. When being used in conjunction with the Navigation App in the Car Dock I see that the position of the Navigation and CamerAlert icons keep switching their icons' positions in the notification bar. This is very eye catching and distracting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Looking into it. Due to the way Android preferences work this may not be possible while you select the entry, but should be possible after selecting it.

2. Agreed but there's no easy way to do that in the preferences. Generally the middle position is the default.

3. fixed

4. will test. Not sure if this can be influenced though.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ashimmin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Why isn't the same as say selecting a ringtone for a contact where the choice menu stays open and each tone is played as soon as the button is hit. The selection is only made when OK is selected or discarded if Cancel is hit. I think the Contacts-Ringtone paradigm would be perfect.

2. Ah, good info already. I can now put the one I hit by mistake back to the middle Smile. Anyway, I meant more of a single, global 'Reset to Defaults' option on the Advanced Menu. Quiet a high percentage of other apps have this feature. In your case where there is login info and database data to be downloaded the clear cache option isn't so attractive an alternative.

3. Good to know Smile

4. I have a pile of icons on the notification bar when driving:
Car Home
Navigation
Music Player
LastFM scrobbling
.. plus email or text icons due to incoming messages

None of these ever move their position which leads me to think that it should be possible for CamerAlert to fix its position in the order in some way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grayfor
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed on HTC Hero and works well - agree that the GPS icon remaining on exit is annoying, but I'm sure that can be addressed. One thing that I think could be improved is the size of the speed readout - when using a smallish device this is hard to see, but is a really useful feature - please make it clearer!
All in all, a good piece of work Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15033
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grayfor wrote:
Installed on HTC Hero and works well - agree that the GPS icon remaining on exit is annoying, but I'm sure that can be addressed. One thing that I think could be improved is the size of the speed readout - when using a smallish device this is hard to see, but is a really useful feature - please make it clearer!
All in all, a good piece of work Very Happy


yes, it is quite small on the Hero. perhaps an advanced option of 'show larger speed displays'?

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
grayfor
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaFt wrote:
grayfor wrote:
Installed on HTC Hero and works well - agree that the GPS icon remaining on exit is annoying, but I'm sure that can be addressed. One thing that I think could be improved is the size of the speed readout - when using a smallish device this is hard to see, but is a really useful feature - please make it clearer!
All in all, a good piece of work Very Happy


yes, it is quite small on the Hero. perhaps an advanced option of 'show larger speed displays'?

MaFt


Yes - that would be a good move!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remind me again, what's that thing in the middle of your dashboard?

Our app is mostly run in the background. You can choose to get audio overspeed warnings.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
Remind me again, what's that thing in the middle of your dashboard?

Of course but it's nice to have the accurate speed from the GPS?
Quote:
Our app is mostly run in the background. You can choose to get audio overspeed warnings.

Superfluous in background mode I know but still nice to have.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
grayfor
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
Remind me again, what's that thing in the middle of your dashboard?

Our app is mostly run in the background. You can choose to get audio
overspeed warnings.

The thing in the middle of my Landrover dash could be anything for all the good it does!
I really want an accurate speed indication Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick789uk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 61
Location: Leyland UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI I downloaded the app down loaded fine also uploaded the data base too woked ok then phone crashed kept on locking up, so I had to uninstall the app and the phone is ok now, pity because it seemed a great app. My phone is the HTC wildfire running android 2.1, hope this helps.

Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 6 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping