Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 910 crashes GPRS
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

910 crashes GPRS
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mullengers
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 10:40 pm    Post subject: 910 crashes GPRS Reply with quote

Hi,

I have been using my GO 910 for more than a couple of years now, have the current Home version 2.x, upto date application version (7.903 I think) and nice shiny new 8.x maps bought via Home.

I have always had a Tomtom Traffic and Speed cam subscription too, the Traffic information gets downloaded over BlueTooth from my mobile phone and "BT Mobile" GPRS.

The Tomtom wants me to set up the GPRS by hand - I assume this is a fault of the BT Mobile service not being known - it is basically Vodafone UK rebranded. I have tried the "basic" and "full" GPRS settings on the Tomtom of APN "btmobile.bt.com", "bt", "bt" and full +cgdcont string too. No difference.

The problem is that the GO 910 crashes and restarts sometimes. This first started happening in August 2008.

During a journey, this almost always occurs on the first attempt to update Traffic info via GPRS data, after I have made any voice phone call on my phone.

Even if I make no voice calls during the journey, then the crash will happen at the first Traffic update after I switch the Tomtom on - then it will run fine the whole journey, if I stick to the route.

If I drive a different route to the suggested one, or cause a replanning of the route or change the route by hand, then the Tomtom will crash when it tries to update the Traffic info the first time thereafter.