Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Corupted 920T Help Please
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Corupted 920T Help Please
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:59 am    Post subject: Corupted 920T Help Please Reply with quote

Hi,
Was downloading speed cameras last night and PC had a fit which in turn caused the 920T to lock up, I have done the reset etc and get to the start up screen and DOS like features. The PC can see the two TomTom drives but when right clicking and going to properties the drive shows as used space 0 bytes and free space 0 bytes. I have all the required backups but cannot access the 920 hard drive to put these backups in any ideas/solutions would be much appreciated
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like the File Allocation Table is messed up.

As you have Backups, I would think you could try a re-format of the Drive.

You mention 2 TT drives, so assume that you also have an SD Card. I would take it out while you recover the Internal Memory, and do it separately.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Oldboy,
Thanks, I have removed the SD Card, however when the 920 is hooked up to the PC in my computer it shows two drive letters even without the SD card in the 920, I am unable to re format the hard drive because when I right click on the drive I am told to insert disc. On properties it shows as 0 bytes used and 0 bytes free. I am told that I might be able to run diskmgmt.msc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a Card Reader? If so you should be able to work on the SD Card first.

If you can get that working then it might be enough to flash the TT, and give you access to the Internal Memory.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now put app and map on the SD card, the device goes one step further to the start up screen but no further.
Think I will have to playwith it more later on
Thanks for your help so far.
If anyone knows how I can get to view what is on the drive now the thing is corrupt or how I can get to format it and start again please let me know
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CliveBrown wrote:
Hi Oldboy,
Thanks, I have removed the SD Card, however when the 920 is hooked up to the PC in my computer it shows two drive letters even without the SD card in the 920


That bit's normal....

As for the rest... it MIGHT be that your internal memory is permanently fritzed - this has happened to mine on a 720.
It first started just being a bit "flakey". I could copy stuff to the memory, that would show up until I disconnected and then it would be gone. I managed to reformat it a couple of times but it got progressively worse, and eventually it would not format at all.

I now successfully run everything off the SD card only, so it is worth persevering with that route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Andy,
Thanks for the info, this is a fairly new unit (December) if I cannot reformat and use the internal drive it may have to go back for repair, any experience of repair times with TomTom? Although I suppose as it came from Dixons I will go down that route first.
The other issue I have noticed on various posts is the issue of map updates and transfering them to a new unit. I have paid for a year of updates from TomTom which are tied to this particular 920
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my PC the forst drive letter is the SD card slot, the second one is the internal memory. If you have no SD Card in the device and try and format the first drive letter then it will promnpt you to insert a disk.

Can you format the second drive letter allocated to the TT?

If not it is foobahed!

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a very sick 920, both the first and second letter ask for a disk to be inserted. When the SD card is in the device it can be read as you say with the first drive letter, the second is having none of it so I cannot format the internal memory. The thing does work now I've put the backup on the SD card so it is useable, back to the PDA for now
Thanks for help so far
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mystery_blue
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 15, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Repair times are quite quick for TOM returns, once they have agreed that the unit must go back for repair after working with u to resolve. My 920 has been back twice once for a faulty tmc aerial and the other for a brightness issue recently.

In both cases the turn around was a day - so in one day - fix another - and return the next. All postage and packacking is supplied by tom tom.
I doubt you will have any luck with Dixons.

Have you tried connecting the unit with tom tom home operational? Check for updates and it may reload the application. Or try a TOM TOM home restore if you have a backup taken via this option. I have just resored a backup to mine as TOM TOM repair returned the unit with a much older MAP than the unit went in for repair with Evil or Very Mad and they had also wipped my own POI's etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14871
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mystery_blue wrote:
Or try a TOM TOM home restore if you have a backup taken via this option. I have just restored a backup to mine as TOM TOM repair returned the unit with a much older MAP than the unit went in for repair with Evil or Very Mad and they had also wiped my own POI's etc.

Eeeeeek! This made the hairs on the back of my neck go frantic! We strongly recommend doing backups using Windows Explorer, not Home. With Explorer you can have several different backups stretching back over the different stages of your device's life, whereas Home overwrites each previous backup - so it's not beyond the bounds of credibility that Home might overwrite a decent backup with a corrupted one! I was last night copying stuff from old computer to new one and noticed I had 21 backups of my 920!
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the responses, I have tried a number of combinations and used it today via SD card which is OK. Learned a lesson or two as well I didn't set up the warn when near POI and the TMC was in no rush to update traffic 176 miles and still trying, never mind. Will check tomtom account and plug in 920 once more, I doubt it will work because the FAT has disapeared
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mystery_blue
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 15, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="DennisN"]
mystery_blue wrote:
Eeeeeek! This made the hairs on the back of my neck go frantic! We strongly recommend doing backups using Windows Explorer, not Home.


I suggested the TOM TOM home restore option as a last resort as it was apparent from CliveBrown's posts that his explorer restore attempts were not working.
Like you I take and keep explorer backup generations for the reasons you state - but still take Home backups when tom tom release application updates.

If CliveBrown goes down the TOM TOM support/return route he probably will be asked to try a TOM TOM home restore as part of the fault analysis, I was prior to my unit being returned for repair.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CliveBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have indeed been in touch with Tom Tom support and have been asked to try a number of options, I can only do a couple of them because the internal memory of the 920 is not recognised. The PC knows there is something there and calls it 920 but the FAT is missing so the computer only knows there is 'something' but showing as 0 bytes free and 0 bytes used. So at this point I don't think there is much I can do other than continue with the Tom Tom support route.
I will have to wait until Monday now to see what there response is.
I have Windows 4 Windows backups (which are also backed up to another drive as well) and a Tom Tom Home backup as well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Steveee
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2003
Posts: 203
Location: Colchester, Essex

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clive,

Cannot comment on the problem you are experiencing, but I can give you feedback on warranty repair.

Last year I took a faulty 920T back to PCWorld who returned it to TT for repair. They decided the unit could not be repaired, and replaced it with a new 730! At that stage the 930 had been withdrawn Rolling Eyes

I had to be firm that even though the 730 was a newer model, I was losing too much additional functionality. After some negotiation with PCWorld they replaced it with a 920T from another store.

So if you do go down the repair under warranty route, make sure you get a like for like replacement Wink

To transfer the map update service, you will probably have to provide evidence to TT that the unit has been replaced under warranty. This may take some time. They will allow 1 new device on TT home in 6 months.
_________________
Steveee
Where am I?
==============
GO 920 (retired)
Garmin Oregon 550T
Garmin Drivesmart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.083 (17 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping