Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Oregon 400t mapping
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Oregon 400t mapping
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Handheld GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sam2008
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:52 pm    Post subject: Oregon 400t mapping Reply with quote

Hi everyone, first time here.

I'm new to using GPS, so sorry for any obvious questions.

Just bought the Oregon 400t (which comes with UK Topo maps included) for use on my motorbike and mountainbike - ie I wanted both OS style maps and road routing.

However, now I've got it out of the box, it won't find routes - I understand that if I want to search by street names or postcodes, I'd have to go and buy something like the City Navigator software, but at the moment, I'm simply finding a POI and hitting the 'Go' button, and when guidance method of 'on road for car' is checked, I just get the message, 'Route Calculation Error: maps do not have routable roads in this area.'

Is there something I need to change in Setup? Or can I only manually program routes unless I buy more software?! Which seems a bit tight of Garmin, given that the Topo maps already have pretty good road detail...

If I have do have to buy new software, does anyone know if the GB Discoverer software is out in the UK yet? I've only seen it here:
http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/uk/cache/offonce/uk/onthetrail/garmin-gb-discoverer;jsessionid=5F921727058F42053D2998CC3D5E6DD2