Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - iPAQ 314 and speedcams database
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

iPAQ 314 and speedcams database
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NavNGo iGO
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sallyann
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 768

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Doug, I can't really suggest anything further. It will be interesting to see if anyone else has a similar problem.
Although the HP's version of iGO has the same deficiencies as the one in the Mio (no 20mph cameras, no speed limits for mobile cameras) the use of directional cameras more than makes up for them IMO. After two years with a Mio I wouldn't want to go back to all those false alarms.
I still think that the iPAQ is excellent value. After that cashback you're paying just 120 which isn't much more than a copy of iGO alone on an SD card. For the extra money you get a neat bit of hardware with that superb 800 x 480 screen.
Anyway, good luck whatever you decide to do.

Sal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks mxmaciek. Want to buy a two month old HP Ipaq 314? Seems strange though because SallyAnn says hers recreates the spdb file and mine does not.
Why? Really peeing me off now.....
Thanks again for your input. The files that the 314 uses out of the box (from Speedcamupdate) are not txt files but are dat and spe files. These recreate the spdb file, no problem. Why again?
Doug
And thanks, Sal, for your perseverance. It can't be me, surely? Unless you have a newer different software map etc on your newer machine? It's so hard to find out anything about this machine - HP themselves have not a clue.
Do like the machine itself - just hate the POI's and speed cameras!!
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sallyann
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 768

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mxmaciek wrote:
On my device (Asus A696) spdb has approx 166 kb after iGo rebuilding the speedcam.spdb...


On the iPAQ it is 154k with the latest PGPSW database.

Sal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mxmaciek
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2007
Posts: 117
Location: UK, Nottingham

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm..
As far as I know:
I have to delete manually ALL files in the SDCard\content\speedcam directory (if you want to keep the original files - just back them up somewhere), and put the txt's from pocketgpsworld.
Well, after the both: device and iGo restart - you shall have the proper:
speedcam.spdb & speedcamupdate.spud files. The spud is always (as far as I know) 0b.
Just try to do it such way...
As I understood - sallyann is doing it such way with success.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On mine - it's 1Kb!!!!!
How sad.......................... I have done exactly this and it just does not rebuild the spdb file. Sal - are yours on the machine's memory or on an SD card? Mine are on the Ipaq's memory. I noticed on the PGPSW instructions it mentioned SD card. i.e. iGO 8: \Storage Card\iGO8\CONTENT\speedcam
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sallyann
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 768

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dougproctor wrote:
Unless you have a newer different software map etc on your newer machine?


mine says:

AppSuite version: 30555
Nav version: Mar 7 2008

Sal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mxmaciek
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2007
Posts: 117
Location: UK, Nottingham

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more what can help. On the HP's support site there is the sp39116.exe file available as the update.
Maybe this will fix your problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Nav version 16722 date Nov 6 2007. And content manager says it is up to date!!
Will chase this through, thanks. Let you both know.
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sallyann
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 768

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doug, PM me your email address and I will send you a copy of my nav.exe file. I don't see any legal problem since you already have a licence.

Sal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PMd you Sal. Just replace mine with it? Shouldn't be any problems should there?
Doug


Last edited by dougproctor on Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mxmaciek. You have to be really careful to get the right version else you can brick your machine. Mine is SKU ID FA976AT#BAN. If it doesn't match, HP told me not to download it.
I can't find one for mine - lots of Western Europe ones but nothing with my SKU number.
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mxmaciek
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2007
Posts: 117
Location: UK, Nottingham

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehs...
Well, I've got the experience with Acer, ASUS, Fujitsu-Siemens and Mitec (MIO) support. Well... you have the opportunity to extend it ;)
Do not ask them for help, just claim that you're unable to install the speedcams update for iGo.
For the exe replacement, befor you'll replace, I'd advice you that you should rename the original file with exe.bak extension.
If you'll go into trouble, you'll have the possibility to go back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, was going to save a copy of it. I know this operating system goes t*ts up for any little reason.
Have also found the right update file for my SKU ID FA976At#BAN. Downloading now but a 1.8Gb file!!!!
Let you know how I get on.
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, put the new nav.exe on and it stopped the unit flashing up. Asked me whether I wanted to restore to factory settings or not. Yes and no did the same thing - nothing. Luckily, I managed to get the USB recognised and deleted the new file and renamed the old one back. After an awfully long wait, it booted up. This damn thing really punishes you for playing around with its file system! Anyway, downloading the 1.8Gb file for this SKU ID and will reflash it with it tomorrow.
Doug[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And another strange thing - explain this one - everytime I look in the speedcam folder, the speedcam.spdb file increases in size i.e 504Kb to 986Kb to 1456Kb. Why? Explain that one.
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> NavNGo iGO All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
18.071 (01 Jul 20)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping