Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - trafficmaster radio frequency????????????
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

trafficmaster radio frequency????????????
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mark2jag
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 15, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:39 pm    Post subject: trafficmaster radio frequency???????????? Reply with quote

Right then, here goes nothing...... I've got a tomtom go520(t) . Its got a traffic receiver, and a bloody silly trailing wire aerial( or is that aeriel??). I understand that TMC on tom tom is not via trafficmaster but just normal selected radio stations. Trafficmaster has the absolute best traffic info as far as i am aware, and somehow this must be transmitted by RF, so I thought I'd ask at what frequency????. I apparently have the ability to manually tune my tomtom. even if i did have the exact radio frequency for trafficmaster broadcasts then would i be defeated by the fact that its encoded or some other such thing the customer off factor. IF i get some replies, even 1, then I would be truly greatful, however as a driver for a certain well known chauffeur company I live or fall by the quality of traffic info, so if not possible should I just go back to where i got it from cap in hand, tell them the traffic info is less than excellent and please can I have a TMC enabled Garmin???? Longwinded but have crammed more into this than the original one liner i originally planned, and like i said any answers that ARE constructive would be appreciated, and no i dont want to buy a bl**dy timeshare, Laughing Out Loud, regards Mark

Don't disguise your swearing in this forum to get round the auto censor software. I've removed the offending word. PaulB2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GPS_fan
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2007
Posts: 2789
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TrafficMaster TMC is also broadcast via a network of radio stations using RDS-TMC.

The TrafficMaster roadside transmitters apparently use pager frequency rather than radio frequency.

The GPS manufacturer determines whether you receive the TrafficMaster OR iTIS data - you can't receive both, it's an either/or scenario.

At least, that's the situation as far as I understand it, but somebody more knowledgeable might just prove me wrong.
_________________
Andy
PocketGPSWorld.com supports Help for Heroes - Read here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark, your TomTom device uses RDS-TMC data provided by iTIS Holdings this information is broadcast via Classic FM and certain other smaller stations across the UK.
The actual frequency you can enter will very much depend upon location, I do have a POI file that you can put on the device which can identify the nearest transmitter and its associated frequency if you want a copy?

What GPS_fan has said is correct re TrafficMaster, it doesn't use TM and simply cannot use TM for data - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6498
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Civic has a built in SatNav which incorporates TMC and the reception is excellent.

I also run a Tm Q-Busta which uses the Tm roadside beacon data.

After a years experience of running the 2 side by side I can state that the Tm Q-Busta is far more accurate than the RDS-TMC data that tends to be out-of-date most of the time.

My journey on the M25 will quite often have the TMC showing me a jam from J15 clockwise whereas the Q-Busta will tell me the jam starts at J13.

99 times out of a 100 the Q-Busta is right and the jam starts at J13.

I wonder what the time lag is between the Tm data getting to the likes of ClassicFM, or in my case Eagle in Surrey ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2jag
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 15, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 7:40 pm    Post subject: so many more questions...... Reply with quote

Thank you all so much for the pretty much instantaneous replies, but here goes some more, which is better Itis info or Trafficmaster info, better relating to which reacts fastest to jams and works best and also has the widest coverage as i regularly travel as far afield as cornwall and john o groats.. I assume that Q-Busta is pretty expensive,and a one time fit only deal. If anyone knows the best price then I'd be keen to hear from them. Or should i chuck it all in the bin, get a full trafficmaster satellite navigation deal with screen and TMC and hope they start doing camera updates v soon.....

Regards yet again, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:42 pm    Post subject: Re: so many more questions...... Reply with quote

mark2jag wrote:
which is better Itis info or Trafficmaster info
Here's a slightly different answer - when they actually work and correctly receive data, both will be better than nothing, but neither will be 100% accurate all the time.
Quote:
better relating to which reacts fastest to jams
Trafficmaster has always traditionally had the edge in this respect, but I've not used an iTIS unit recently to be able to confirm that's still true.
Quote:
also has the widest coverage as i regularly travel as far afield as cornwall and john o groats..
Unfortunately both companies do not produce comparable maps; TM do have a map showing which roads they do and don't cover, but it's fair to say if you aren't on a motorway / primary trunk road, you may not get details of the traffic. More importantly, you probably care more about which has the better network for actually receiving updates in the first place; and for this, both are poor unfortunately, although iTIS do at least recognise this, and are trying to improve their coverage.
Quote:
I assume that Q-Busta is pretty expensive,and a one time fit only deal. If anyone knows the best price then I'd be keen to hear from them.
It's exactly 129.99 direct from TM, which includes a lifetime subscription to traffic data (for the life of the fitment in that one car), and includes free fitting too. See here for more details.
Quote:
Or should i chuck it all in the bin, get a full trafficmaster satellite navigation deal with screen and TMC and hope they start doing camera updates
It's unlikely that the majority of these systems will be offering camera alerts any time soon; you would probably change car before it became available...
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6498
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:22 am    Post subject: Re: so many more questions...... Reply with quote

mark2jag wrote:
Thank you all so much for the pretty much instantaneous replies, but here goes some more, which is better Itis info or Trafficmaster info, better relating to which reacts fastest to jams and works best and also has the widest coverage as i regularly travel as far afield as cornwall and john o groats.. I assume that Q-Busta is pretty expensive,and a one time fit only deal. If anyone knows the best price then I'd be keen to hear from them. Or should i chuck it all in the bin, get a full trafficmaster satellite navigation deal with screen and TMC and hope they start doing camera updates v soon.....

Regards yet again, Mark


I fitted my own Q-Busta, it's very easy.

There are just 4 wires, Red and Black = positive and negative and 2 purple wires which go to the supplied speaker - that's it.

Fortunately my car has a large lidded centre console with a nearby ciggy lighter so I was able to power it from that. Even though the instructions say to mount the receiver high up in the car, it's not neccessary as these units are very sensitive.

They are 129 all in with no further subs and if you fit it yourself you can remove it and transfer it to your next car.



Ignore the colied wire and the wind up torch in the centre. THe Q-Busta is the small black box at the left with the lower blue connector and the speaker is just in front of the power socket. Since taking this photo I have moved the speaker outside of the box as it was somewhat muffled.



And this is the Tm button that lights up red or green after you get the signals accompanied by the verbal traffic warnings (if any exist).
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3


Last edited by Kremmen on Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:35 am    Post subject: Re: so many more questions...... Reply with quote

Kremmen wrote:
I fitted my own Q-Busta, it's very easy.

There are just 4 wires, Red and Black = positive and negative and 2 purple wires which go to the supplied speaker - that's it.
I assume it wants a switched power supply then, ie it doesn't need a permanent connection?
Quote:
Even though the instructions say to mount the receiver high up in the car, it's not neccessary as these units are very sensitive.
The better "visibility" the unit has to the front of the car the earlier you will receive the traffic reports; I've got one TM unit (not a Q-Busta) down near the footwell in one car, and it often can't give traffic reports until you are at the junction and right next to the mast, which is occasionally too late to react to, but on that car there's nowhere else to locate it.

Image removed - please repost with a max width of 400 pixel as per the Forum Rules - PaulB2005I've seen of your pictures on the Civic forum, but hope you can get them re-uploaded here.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6498
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also got an old Tm Freeway unit that I used for signal comparison against the Q-Busta.

I Velcro'd the Freeway on the top of the dash in full view and yet both units picked up the signals in almost the same location but - the Q-Busta was usually first. I put that down to the better power supply than 4xAA that the Freeway demanded.

Yes it does need a switched power supply.

Advantages of Q-Busta over the Freeway :

    Permanent Red or Green light (ala Tm Oracle)
    Louder if required (volume control 1 - 8) (8 is VERY loud)
    Switches on with the car ignition so no button pressing required
    Report of clear adjoining roads combined instead of a single continuous report of every road = quicker to end
    No annual subs (4 years and it's paid for v Freeway subs)
    No battery changing

_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3


Last edited by Kremmen on Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perussell
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2006
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not try a Trafficmaster Freeway? TM stopped selling these things a couple of years ago in order to try and sell the more lucrative Q-bustas etc. but you can often find one on e-Bay. The subscription is 30 per year, the unit is battery powered so no wires and the information will, I would assume, be identical to that sent to the Q-busta.

I have had mine for about 6 years now and found it to be almost faultless. Yes, it only sees 10 miles or 2 junctions ahead but it works off the road side cameras so gives real time info and doesn't rely on some weak FM signal. Any warnings of 5 mins/ 2miles delay can disappear as quickly as they arise but anything over 10 mins/ 4miles and I start to take notice. It has saved me hours (if not days!!) during the time I have had it and works on all M-Ways and most major A roads.

I trust it to the extent that when I changed my sat nav recently I didn't bother purchasing a TMC enabled unit since the info is invariably poor and that's if you can even get a signal.

and of course.............it's totally portable and can be moved from car to car.

(I also have no problems with the loudness, it's mre than loud enough)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

perussell wrote:
Why not try a Trafficmaster Freeway?
Indeed, but as Kremmen says, after a couple of years the cost of the subscription, batteries and allowing for the cost of the unit, it can work out cheaper to buy the Q-Busta, whose main downside is the lack of portability.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
perussell
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2006
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Indeed, but as Kremmen says, after a couple of years the cost of the subscription, batteries and allowing for the cost of the unit, it can work out cheaper to buy the Q-Busta, whose main downside is the lack of portability.


and in a couple of years who's to say that the technology won't have moved on to such an extent that there is a new offering and we want to spend our money on the newer technology

Look at the pace of sat nav development and how quickly units are now becoming obsolete and I sometimes think it pays to buy the cheapest solution available at any one time recognising that you will change it in 18-24 months

"you pays your money and you takes your choice as they say"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6498
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely right......and Trafficmaster have quite a few newer style products to help us avoid traffic.

But - have you seen the cost and annual subs of the associated 'keys' required to run them Shocked ?

I was amazed that they released a unit for a reasonable amount with no annual subs. The Q-Busta will hopefully do me for quite a few years beyond it's payback period.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dchbrown
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to remember my old MG having a Trafficmaster enabled clock.

As well as the time you would get updates for upto 3 junctions infront or behind you as to whether there was traffic problems. Im sure its used the TM network but i could be wrong.

That cost me 35 from ebay and just replaced the clock so all it needed was a power connection and there was no subs either.

Has anyone else seen these?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not seen one in the flesh, but yes, you are right that it was a TrafficMaster device.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping