Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Speed Camera database download to my XDA
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Speed Camera database download to my XDA

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nod4584
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 12, 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:10 pm    Post subject: Speed Camera database download to my XDA Reply with quote

I have used all instructions to down load and deleted al ao files yet I cannot use the data base. Does not even show any cameras on route.
This way of downlading worked perfectly with pocket 6 version !! Any ideas please. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What software are you using?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14731
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the mention of 'ao' i'm guessing copilot 7?

when you restart cp7 do you get the progress bar saying it's updating pois etc? it can take a couple of minutes so it's not something you can miss easily!

if not then it may be worth checking it's in the correct map folder? do you have uk maps only or full europe? the guide was written on the assumption that it was european mapping (that's all i had at the time) and i don't know the equivalent folder names for uk mapping

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both myself and ''Oldie'' had to re-install the CP7 software from the CD to get this working on the XDA Orbit - 2, as supplied the device would start to update with the progress bar on the screen and lock up. As we live in completely different parts of the country it could be the pre-installed software on the supplied memory card is corupt - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
nod4584
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 12, 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
What software are you using?


Co Pilot 7. I have uninstalled it and reinstalled it from the PC and I and I have copied the csv files to XDA and deleted the ao files but it still wont show the cameras either statically or on route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nod4584
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 12, 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaFt wrote:
from the mention of 'ao' i'm guessing copilot 7?

when you restart cp7 do you get the progress bar saying it's updating pois etc? it can take a couple of minutes so it's not something you can miss easily!

if not then it may be worth checking it's in the correct map folder? do you have uk maps only or full europe? the guide was written on the assumption that it was european mapping (that's all i had at the time) and i don't know the equivalent folder names for uk mapping

MaFt


I have the full european maps. Still doesn't work..!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nod4584
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 12, 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Both myself and ''Oldie'' had to re-install the CP7 software from the CD to get this working on the XDA Orbit - 2, as supplied the device would start to update with the progress bar on the screen and lock up. As we live in completely different parts of the country it could be the pre-installed software on the supplied memory card is corupt - Mike


I have reinstalled the software from the CD and it still does not work..!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you also re-load the map from the disk as I had to? - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
nod4584
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 12, 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Did you also re-load the map from the disk as I had to? - Mike


Yes I did. Another thing, when I copied the csv files to the xda they showed in the file on xda. But after opening CP7 I checked and they had then been deleted...! I am now really confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14731
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the csv files get 'converted' and added to the ao.... files (hence deleting the files before updating otherwise you would be adding data to the old ones!)

do you get the 'updating' message when you boot up?

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
morfis
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using two XDA Orbits here and have had no problems with the downloaded camera data.

What I did.......

Deleted AO*.* files from \Storage Card\COPILOT\EU\Save

extracted PGPSW files from downloaded archive and copied to:
\Storage Card\COPILOT\EU\Save

re-started CP7 (and saw the 'updating' messages)

Went into CP7 POI settings and enabled POI Alerts. set the software up to display custom POIs

All works fine - no re-installation of software or maps needed on either of my Orbit's.
The inbuilt safety camera warnings won't work after doing it this way but I prefer the flexability of having separate POI files for camera types anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping