Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - NEW VERSION tomtom RDS TMC reciever out yet?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

NEW VERSION tomtom RDS TMC reciever out yet?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaneosborne
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Received mine today, solid green circle and I only tested it inside my house with the coil still factory tied.

Good work, TomTom. Shame we had to wait so long for a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rory1968
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:41 pm    Post subject: Traffic Reply with quote

Got my replacement today.I have tried it every which way and still only getting yellow circle.I live in south leicestershire.Any tips would be appreciated.Thanks,Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emjaiuk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2003
Posts: 335
Location: North Surrey (TW17) UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AndyVaughan wrote:
No sign of mine yet!

I got an email on Thursday with the tracking info, but according to the Royal Mail website they haven't received it yet.

Damn Postal strike!

Andy


My tracking info never registered, the pack just appeared
_________________
Go740L App 9.510 Europe 985.8155
RDS_TMC mount
Home 2.8.3.2499 Win10 Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teecee90
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 02, 2005
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

coastersteve wrote:
swebb wrote:
Thanks for all that info Mike.

I guess it will be the back end of this week before I get anything with the postal strike.


Our local Comet have them in. The box has completely changed too so don't go looking for the old style blister pack.


BEWARE. The ones in my local Comet are not the latest version. Yes, the box is different, and it has a straight connector rather than the angled one, but is has only 2 suction cups and no ferite ring.

I made the mistake of buying one but it went back 10 minutes later. As soon as I took it out of the box it didnt look right although, interestingly, the label did show the version number as 4V00.013. Plugged it in......no signal (revolving orange circle).

I guess the latest version hasn't been released to UK retailers yet.


Last edited by teecee90 on Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foxyloxy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my replacement rds-tmc unit arrived yesterday, plugged it in and my go910 did not show it as connected. I checked the connection/the mount, did a hard reset and back to factory defaults - no joy. So I thought as a last resort I would update the system software (old version was 6.522) - upgraded to 6.525 - the rds-tmc then connected no problem and locks onto a signal brilliantly.

hope this might help someone.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjm2k
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 15, 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine seems to work ok too! Not sure about the quality of data coming over the air but at lease the tomtom is getting it now!

Just one question, aren't ferrite rings supposed to stop radio waves from interfering with electrical transmissions, eg a connection between a pc and a monitor, whereas the whole point of an antenna is to pick up radio waves which seems to be at odds with having the rings attached? Do they only remove certain frequencies?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rjm2k wrote:
Just one question, aren't ferrite rings supposed to stop radio waves from interfering with electrical transmissions, eg a connection between a pc and a monitor, whereas the whole point of an antenna is to pick up radio waves which seems to be at odds with having the rings attached? Do they only remove certain frequencies?

I don't have mine to hand but are the ferrites on the section between dongle and plug? The antenna is the other free trailing section?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rjm2k
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 15, 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you look at the pic on page 16 of this thread it shows a large ferrite on the data connector and a small one on the antenna, there's also something at the end of the antenna though that could just be a cap. I suppose the thing part way along the antenna might not actually be a ferrite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If chosen carefully and designed correctly the ferrite will allow specific frequencies to pass whilst attenuating others outside the frequency of interest, this is easy to do with RDS transmissions as they occur in a relatively tight frequency band (87.5 to 108MHz) The unit at the tip of the aerial is indeed a simple plastic cap and does nothing to the unit in terms of performance - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
SpeedCam
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 18, 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Biggleswade, BEDS

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crying or Very sad My replacement is not looking very promising, I've completed the online process of updating my address details, a package has been sent and returned. I've received the email notification saying that the unit will be checked, but no despatch email. I've therefore asked for and update, and surprise, surprise my repair record has suddenly disappeared and there's no record of me ever having an outstanding repair. I've updated my support question, and the status has been changed to Research without any updates.

It will be intersting to see what TomTom do if they cannot recover my original repair record, yet another cock up, maybe one day I may receive a working TMC unit....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
paulday
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just in addition to the message a few posts up, be careful if buying from Comet. The 3 stores that I have tried all have the EU version (.010) instead of the new UK version (.013).

The box gives the part number 9V00.013, and the UK isn't even listed as a country where RDS-TMC is available!

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beaconlegal
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2006
Posts: 77
Location: Worcester, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still waiting for my box to come ....

But in the meantime I note from above that there now appear to be two versions out - European and UK. Dare one speculate as to whether the UK version will work in Europe when one travels over there?????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The UK version will work very well in Europe - Probably better than the Euro version but don't tell everyone as they will all want one Wink - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woo Hoo - mine turned up today
Boo Hoo - a rather familiar spinning orange circle - went for a quick drive
Woo Hoo - Green Circle - checked what frequency it had locked on to
Boo Hoo - 101.0 with no station name - Classic is 101.1 round here
Set it to search again and
Woo Hoo - Green Circle
Woo Hoo - 101.1
Boo Hoo - after 5 mins still no station name or apparent traffic data - I find it hard to beleive there wasn't a single traffic incident in all of the North West

Driving from Rossendale to Didsbury, Manchester in rush hour traffic tomorrow morning - I will see how it performs then as I may just be in a dead spot, although I did go on to the top deck of the Asda car park to see if it got a better signal.

One thing, as there were absolutely no instructions, is the antenna section supposed to be vertical or horizontal for the best reception?????

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give it time, I found the first few times I used the new device it didn't lock on straight away, but after a while it just started working - around the area you are located it should work very well, make sure you deploy the aerial wire accross the bottom of the screen then vertically up to the top of the screen at least 5CM away from the "A" pillar.

You will get the orange spinning disk from time to time when there is no RDS data being transmitted, this is quite normal, you should keep an eye out for 100,4 FM though as that will be switching on soon from the WinterHill transmitter along with 105,4 so coverage will improve.

I pick up 101,1 in Blackpool with the new RDS device quite easily, I am located some 25 miles further away from the transmitter than yourself, it could be local terain masking that is causing your problem, let us know what happens once you hit the M60 in the morning, but position the aerial wire as I said to optimise performance - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 18 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.081 (03 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping